Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Slackware Startup

  1. #1

    Slackware Startup

    I am lost here... I have been using Suse for a bit, and trying to administer this Slackware 10 server is driving me nuts... I have some utilities to check up on my RAID setup, and was wondering... How do I get these things to start on boot-up?
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

  2. #2
    Advisor Outlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    630
    In slack, IIRC, make sure they are executable if you want them to start on boot.

  3. #3
    Whatever command you want run on bootup, you have to add to /etc/rc.d/rc.local.
    My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive.

  4. #4
    That's what I needed... I am sitting here, looking for rc3.d, rc0.d, and not finding it... LOL
    This is the one of the main things I HATE about Linux (at least the 'like' list is longer than the 'hate' list)... every distro does things in a slightly (or not so slightly) different manner. I would just like to be able to learn one and know them all, alas, that is not possible yet...

    Thanks for the help!
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    That's why you try all the distro and stick with one that you are comfortible with. For me, Debian all the way, babe ....
    LinuxVillage - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  6. #6
    I guess that's why I have just stuck with Suse. It is great on the desktop, but my server has to run Slackware (I could not get WOL to work with Suse, although it works out of the box with Slackware)...
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

Similar Threads

  1. Startup App
    By GhostDawg in forum Ubuntu / Debian
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-01-2006, 07:29 AM
  2. WIN XP Startup Problem, Plz Help.!
    By C00L_GUY in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-18-2006, 10:28 PM
  3. KDE freezes on startup
    By gordingin in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-28-2004, 05:27 PM
  4. RH8 startup help
    By mcdougrs in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-06-2002, 09:11 AM
  5. startup
    By elovkoff in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-17-2002, 11:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •