Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
DNS in CentOS
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: DNS in CentOS

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Mentor cga's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    1,433

    DNS in CentOS

    Hi all,

    I have a small box runing CentOS 4.2 here at school. This is a minimal, text based install. The system works fine, and I can ping and ssh to it from any workstation on the LAN, however, I do not seem to have DNS (i.e. it works from the IP adress, not from the Hostname.

    DNS is handled by the router, but I think I am missing something.

    Any ideas?
    TANSTAAFL

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935
    Is bind listed in /etc/host.conf ?

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

    No IT BS !!

  3. #3
    Mentor cga's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    1,433
    Quote Originally Posted by Compunuts
    Is bind listed in /etc/host.conf ?
    Yes.

    order hosts,bind
    TANSTAAFL

  4. #4
    Advisor Outlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    630
    If its an isolated LAN, you probably have no DNS. Can check by doing a
    Code:
    host www.google.com
    . If you think you should have DNS, make sure /etc/resolv.conf contains entries. Otherwise, populate your /etc/hosts on each machine with all the others IPs and names.

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  5. #5
    Mentor cga's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    1,433
    Quote Originally Posted by Outlaw
    If its an isolated LAN, you probably have no DNS. Can check by doing a
    Code:
    host www.google.com
    . If you think you should have DNS, make sure /etc/resolv.conf contains entries. Otherwise, populate your /etc/hosts on each machine with all the others IPs and names.
    Yeah, I have /etc/resolv.conf as follows:

    nameserver 192.168.9.105
    nameserver 192.168.9.1

    The second one is the default gateway/router.

    Host www.google.com works fine.
    TANSTAAFL

  6. #6
    Mentor cga's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    1,433
    OK, if I try to ping the DNS server, I get a host unreachable result. From the CentOS box -- I can ping the DNS from XP just fine.
    TANSTAAFL

  7. #7
    Advisor Outlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    630
    Does netstat -rn return a gateway?

    Code:
    netstat -rn
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
    10.0.0.0        0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 eth0
    169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U         0 0          0 eth0
    0.0.0.0         10.0.0.1        0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 eth0
    If not, then see if you can extract the gateway to use from XP box and put it in the Linux one.

    If this is a small LAN then chances are, they themselves wont be in DNS. You'll have to depend on hosts files.

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  8. #8
    Advisor Outlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    630
    whoops, I didnt see your other post.

    So it's probably that these machines themselves are not in DNS and you have to rely on hosts files

    edit-
    it's odd though that you cant ping the dns servers but you can resolve internet addresses.
    Last edited by Outlaw; 04-07-2006 at 03:48 PM.

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  9. #9
    Mentor cga's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    1,433
    Quote Originally Posted by Outlaw
    Does netstat -rn return a gateway?

    Code:
    netstat -rn
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
    10.0.0.0        0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 eth0
    169.254.0.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.0.0     U         0 0          0 eth0
    0.0.0.0         10.0.0.1        0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 eth0
    If not, then see if you can extract the gateway to use from XP box and put it in the Linux one.

    If this is a small LAN then chances are, they themselves wont be in DNS. You'll have to depend on hosts files.
    Hmmmm... I get a gateway alue from netstat that ends in .254. ipconfig on XP gives the gateway as .1

    Should I tweak my routing tables to reflect the XP value for the last octet?
    TANSTAAFL

  10. #10
    Hi everyone.

    I have a problem expect people to help.
    I am using CentOS 6. I installed bind-DNS service. All configuration files are in / usr / share /xxxx / sample / ... in which the file as name.conf; name.rfc1912.zone and other files.
    The problem here is that I do not know how to copy these files to where to configure correctly. I also tried several times but to no avail.

    Expect people to help.
    Thank you very much.

Similar Threads

  1. why not centos ?
    By cognitiveLinux in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-06-2012, 10:43 PM
  2. CentOS 4.3 is out
    By cga in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-2006, 09:23 PM
  3. CentOS
    By cga in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-23-2006, 04:32 PM
  4. CentOS
    By mannyamador in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-16-2006, 05:28 PM
  5. CentOS users
    By cga in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-17-2005, 10:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •