Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

DNS / FIREWALL / SQUID/ DMZ security

Thread: DNS / FIREWALL / SQUID/ DMZ security

Exclamation DNS / FIREWALL / SQUID/ DMZ security

Hi everybody:
    I am new with Linux. I did a lof of reading and I found this forum very interesting as far as help.

I kind of understand the theory of firewall and ACL but i need concret facts:

I have a FC4 DNS with 3 NICs: Internet, DMZ, Internal.

I want to have the DNS box setup as a DNS and Firewall
    with Squid. This Linux box will be the interface with the outside world.
    I want this linux box as secured as possible.

My DNS works fine. From my DNS box, I can ping my
    internal network and the DMZ and the internet. I can access to the internet.

from my DMZ, I can ping the DNS box on all its interfaces, but cannot ping or nslookup outside such as "ping www.yahoo.com"

from my internal i can ping DNS box but cannot "ping www.yahoo.com" or "nslookup"

Can someone help me on that?

thank you.

Good Guru
    Make sure you have NAT turn on.

Check /etc/resolv.conf . There, put in the DNS server address.

Also check and make sure you have default gateway options in your NIC's config area.

HTH ....

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    - The truely community run Linux/Floss forum !

No IT BS !!

Hi Compunuts:

I rebuilt from scratch everything to have clean FC4 machines.

The marchines are:
    1x FC4 with DNS only
    1x FC4 (future Web server, not install yet)
    1x Windows XP

DNS Machine: