Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: xripper question

  1. #1

    xripper question

    fc3, I run xripper, go to config and all mp3 encoders are greyed out.
    (I guess I don't have the mp3 encoder installed....)
    If this is the case then how can I rectify this?
    thanks

  2. #2

    Re:xripper question

    I've installed lame encoder from the source and it works ok now.....the question though is if FC3 has any built-in encoders? did I miss something here?

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re:xripper question

    [quote author=elovkoff link=board=2;threadid=10501;start=0#msg94465 date=1118278616]
    I've installed lame encoder from the source and it works ok now.....the question though is if FC3 has any built-in encoders? did I miss something here?
    [/quote]

    If I'm not mistaken (please correct me if I am wrong), Redhat (and Fedora Project) do not include mp3 encoders due to patent issues. Various other encoders would not be included either, such as windows media audio/video, quicktime, etc. I hope this reply has proved helpful (or at least informative ).

    Cheers

  4. #4

    Re:xripper question

    You can just look for the rpm for lame. That way you don't have to install from scratch.
    Check one of the 3rd party fedora repositories.

  5. #5

    Re:xripper question

    ok, fc did not include it, but what should I do if I want to be able to play mp3, mpeg, and dvd cds?
    Thanks,

  6. #6

    Re:xripper question

    Hi,

    You might want to look around the threads we have on this forum. I believe the mp3 question has been asked and answered a few times in the past (seems to be the most common question regarding fedora.) Anyway, here is a thread Schotty made, that details what to do about the mp3's. You might also want to check the Fedora FAQ.

    Regarding DVD's and mpeg's, try installing Xine. This shows the quick and easy way to do it.


  7. #7

    Re:xripper question

    Alternatively, if you already have YUM configured, you can just issue the command
    Code:
    yum install xine
    .

  8. #8

    Re:xripper question

    thanks a lot. will try.

Similar Threads

  1. Fan Question
    By Millermagic in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 02-04-2005, 06:00 AM
  2. 1 of my many question to come
    By gentoo in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-07-2004, 07:37 PM
  3. Web Question
    By GhostDawg in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-08-2004, 08:16 AM
  4. cga - another question
    By LiNuts in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-22-2002, 12:20 PM
  5. SSH question
    By binary_boy in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2002, 08:46 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •