Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
ATI RADEON 9600SE
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ATI RADEON 9600SE

  1. #1
    Associate
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    45

    ATI RADEON 9600SE

    Well, i got past the cd drive problems, but now I cannot configure the video. I am installing Mandrake 10.0. I have an ATI Radeon 9600SE card. Right before I go to configure it at the end of the MDK setup, I get a message that an XFREE86 package could not be installed. Then, it has it set up as ATI RADEON (fglrx). When I select Test, i get this error:

    An Error Occurred:
    (WW) RADEON No Matching Device Section For Instance(BUS ID: PCI 2:0:1) found
    Try to change some parameters. Well, I tried a ton of different options and I either get that message or the one that no usuable screens found.

    Does anyone know how I can get this working? thanks.

  2. #2

    Re: ATI RADEON 9600SE

    Looks like X was not fully installed. What exactly did not get installed? Does it work for you, or are you working from the cli? in the event that it is installed, or even working, then

    $ /sbin/lspci (assuming that is where lspci is located, use 'locate' to find it)

    my output looks like this:

    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Matrox Graphics, Inc. MGA G400 AGP (rev 82)


    Then, in the /etc/X11/XF86Config, make sure you have a section like this-

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "G450-2"
    Driver "mga"
    Option "agpmode" "2"
    Option "EnablePageFlip" "True"
    BusID "PCI:1:00:0"
    Screen 1
    VideoRam 32768
    EndSection

    most important are the BusID, and Driver.

  3. #3
    Associate
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    45

    Re: ATI RADEON 9600SE

    Yes, I dont think X was fully installed, but, I installed mdk 9.2 instead of 10, and I got it working, but i cant seem to get the ATI drivers loaded. I plan on going to 10 when it is official. The way I always check to see that the video is working decently is to play tuxracer. if it works, then i am happy. It is not working. Maybe I should go back to nvidia, never had any trouble loading the drivers.

    So, by using some generic settings, I have X working, but I am wondering if there are any issues with using an ATI card on an NVIDIA board?

    Thanks.

  4. #4

    Re: ATI RADEON 9600SE

    i havne't had to deal with that, maybe someone else would have some experience with that. i thought that nvidia boards were only meant for nvidia cards, but i could be very wrong about this.

  5. #5
    Associate
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    45

    Re: ATI RADEON 9600SE

    Wow, I thought about that (this is the first computer I have built), but I guess I didnt think about it hard enough? ???

  6. #6

    Re: ATI RADEON 9600SE

    My brothers machine is using an ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128, with an Nvidia nForce2 board, and doing pretty well. Originally it was meant for my other brother with is 9600 Pro but we couldn't get it working with the board, and I came to your conclusion that ATI don't work with Nvidia based boards. However after getting the 9800 Pro working with the board, and quite easy I might add, we decided to test the 9600 Pro again, and we were able to get it working just as easy, but I think it was the various BIOS updates in between which fixed all these issues.

    In conclusion, ATI cards will work with Nvidia based boards, but you may need BIOS or driver updates to get it to do so.
    AMD Athlon 2200+ 1.8Ghz
    1280MB PC-3200 CAS2.5 RAM
    ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB AGP
    Western Digital WDC WD2500JB-00FUA0 250GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Seagate ST3200822A 200GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Western Digital WDC WD1200BB-00CAA1 120GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Western Digital WDC WD800BB-00CAA1 80GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Maxtor OneTouch 2HA43R32 1TB 7200 rpm USB 2.0
    D-Link DFE-530TX+ 10/100 NIC
    D-Link DWL-G520 Rev.A
    Debian 5.0r1 Lenny

Similar Threads

  1. Welcome to Radeon Hell
    By postlogic in forum General Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-18-2004, 10:56 AM
  2. Radeon 8500 + 2.4.19
    By civ1492 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-16-2002, 10:03 AM
  3. BSD+Radeon
    By Ashcrow in forum BSD
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-03-2002, 10:16 PM
  4. Radeon or Geforce
    By civ1492 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-08-2002, 01:06 PM
  5. Radeon and 3 support
    By ASCI_Blue in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-14-2001, 10:27 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •