Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mandrake 10

Hybrid View

GeminiJon

Mandrake 10

Anybody install this one yet?

I just burned CD's 1, 2, & 3 this afternoon and am going to try an install after I format my hard drive and reinstall XP.

I'm completely new to linux and am really excited, this looks great.

Re:Mandrake 10

Havent had a look at it yet, welcome to linux - it is great!
    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

GeminiJon

Well I would agree with you if I hadn't had problems with it this weekend.

I installed Mandrake 10 and chose all the desktops at the install screen and it finished installing and asked me which desktop I would prefer to use, so I thought I'd try KDE first.

The bootloader works fine, after reboot it came up and I chose linux. Everything looked okay until the KDE progress stopped at 85% on the blue folder, I just thought it was taking too long but I waited for it to continue and it went to a blank blue screen, nothing else.

I rebooted and tried the other choices, linux-nonfb does the same. And I don't know anything about failsafe.

Could anyone help me out? I'd really like to see linux working on my pc.

System Specs:
    P4 2.4 GH 533fsb
    512 MB PC2100 or 2700 memory
    Liteon DVD
    NEC CDRW
    Soundblaster Live
    GeForce4 420MX 64 MB video
    Windows XP Home on C:

do you have a "boot: " prompt at the boot selection screen? if so you might try:

linux noscsi

and see if that helps... other boot parameters that might help alone or in combination include:
    nousb
    nopci
    noapm
    noacpi
    acpi=no
    apm=no
    nomce
    nopcmcia

I hope this helps... good luck and let us know if any of those work...

same problem basicly

I have the same problem basicly. I am new to this forum and Linux.I posted in the wrong area earlier,sorry about that. But my problem is that when I start up mandrake 10.0 it hangs for about 4 minutes.