Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: WebServer

  1. #1

    WebServer

    Just a quick question... How can I find out the ACTUAL IP address my computer is at? I ran ifconfig, and all I can get is the 192.168.1.xxx address, but what I am kind of looking for is an address that I can type in (at school, for example) and reach my home computer. Is this even possible?
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

  2. #2

    Re:WebServer

    behind a router eh?
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+<br />DFI NFII Ultra Infinity(gigabyte sucks)<br />OCZ 2 x 512 PC3200<br />ATI Radeon AIW 9600 PRO<br />16x DVD-Rom (not in use)<br />LG 8x DVD-Burner<br />LG 40x12x40 CD-RW<br />WD 120GB<br />420W PSU<br />Tweaked out case<br />:)

  3. #3

    Re:WebServer

    Yeah... I found the IP, but of course, it will be different here in a few days... damn... Pretty damn fast download from it though
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

  4. #4

    Re:WebServer

    not neccesarily, i have it so my ip doesnt change because of my router lol
    if you dont unplug your router or anything it wont grab a new IP, but once i shut off my router the ip changes.
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+<br />DFI NFII Ultra Infinity(gigabyte sucks)<br />OCZ 2 x 512 PC3200<br />ATI Radeon AIW 9600 PRO<br />16x DVD-Rom (not in use)<br />LG 8x DVD-Burner<br />LG 40x12x40 CD-RW<br />WD 120GB<br />420W PSU<br />Tweaked out case<br />:)

  5. #5

    Re:WebServer

    Really? I never turn the router off. The cable modem and computer get turned off, but the router stays on 24/7. I was under the impression that the IP is 'leased' for a certain amount of time, and after that time, is released so that it can either be renewed or reassigned. I wonder how long I can get away with running a webserver before I get a letter from Comcast telling me to pull the plug on it before they pull the plug on me...
    Asus A8V Deluxe Mobo
    AMD Athlon64 X2 4400 -939
    2GB Crucial DDR3200 Dual-Channel
    ATi AiW 9800 Pro 128DDR
    Audigy2 ZS
    Sony DRU-810 DVD+RW DL
    3 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 160Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 300Gb 16Mb Cache
    1 x Maxtor MaxLine SATA 120Gb 16Mb Cache

  6. #6

    Re:WebServer

    you are correct, but it wont boot you off of the IP that you already have leased, but once you unplug the router for even a second then the ip will stay the same, i dont know, maybe if you unplug your modem it will lease a new one, i dont unplug either, so it always stays the same.
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+<br />DFI NFII Ultra Infinity(gigabyte sucks)<br />OCZ 2 x 512 PC3200<br />ATI Radeon AIW 9600 PRO<br />16x DVD-Rom (not in use)<br />LG 8x DVD-Burner<br />LG 40x12x40 CD-RW<br />WD 120GB<br />420W PSU<br />Tweaked out case<br />:)

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    304

    Re:WebServer

    Something you might consider is a dynamic dns service. I use http://www.dyndns.org/ to direct the abtg.homeunix.org domain to my server. My router supports connecting to the service and updating my IP when it changes on those rare occasions.

  8. #8

    Re:WebServer

    could also check this out
    gives updaters for linux anad winders
    http://www.ods.org
    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

  9. #9

    Re:WebServer

    Quote Originally Posted by gaxprels
    My router supports connecting to the service and updating my IP when it changes on those rare occasions.
    Hey, thats pretty damn cool

    whatdoyougetwhenyoumultiplysixbynine??

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    304

    Re:WebServer

    Yep, but that's about the only thing cool about it. It has a limited number of ports you can open (redirect to an internal IP) and it doesn't allow for triggers (so things like "if someone connects to ports 6665 - 7000, temporarily open port 113 to the requesting IP" don't work.)

Similar Threads

  1. Webserver in Virtual Box
    By DaGunster in forum Ubuntu / Debian
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-07-2010, 03:58 PM
  2. webserver
    By aimseeker in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-11-2010, 04:53 PM
  3. JSP with Apache webserver!
    By honey bee in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-12-2006, 04:44 PM
  4. My Webserver
    By beezlebubsbum in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 08-23-2005, 06:19 AM
  5. Webserver
    By trickster in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-27-2002, 01:24 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •