Thread: linux newb needs help pls

quigley0

linux newb needs help pls

I am very new to linux. I have installed red hat 9 (dual boot with winXP using system commander) and I really like it. I am having a few issues and would like some help. First, I can't get online. But that issue is being tackled by someone in the networking forum. Second, I can't get my soundcard to be recognized. It works fine in windows. Oh, I can also get online fine in windows too. The last things is people keep telling me to log in as superuser, but I looked through my redhat index for superuser, and I am not sure how to do that....

Thanks again....

Re:linux newb needs help pls

I can't get my soundcard to be recognized
    I need all the information you can tell me about your sound card. Is it brand new? Are you using KDE or GNOME, if KDE, Does an error message pop up asking you to configure ARTS?

The last things is people keep telling me to log in as superuser, but I looked through my redhat index for superuser, and I am not sure how to do that....
    When you log on as a user to your system, you can only use the applications and functions that you have permission to use, not to mention that you can't change/configure anything about the system, hence, a large reason why Linux is touted as being so secure. If you log on as root, you now have entire control of linux. you have no restrictions, for better of worse. To do this, you can either, upon logging in, use the user name 'root', and the root passwd, or, once logged in, enter the console and type 'su' (hit enter) for superuser, and then type the root password it. This will extend your rights as a user to the rights of the root operator. One caveat, just be careful when operating as root. Do not connect to the internet in anyway, at least until you know more on the subject. This is the easiest way for you to avoid further headaches.

Goodluck,

Babbing

quigley0