Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: q: how do you include affs in your fstab ?

  1. #1

    q: how do you include affs in your fstab ?

    I'm new to linux so please don't bite my head off if this is one of the
    old faithfuls.

    I've plucked out the HD from my old Amiga1200 (affs format) and have connected it to my Linux box (PC, Mandrake 8.2) as any other HD.

    The Amiga HD shows up as 'hdd' in the madeandrake control center, but I can obtain no further information regarding the contents, presumably because the system thinks it's a Linux HD.

    According to 'man mount', the affs format is supported under Linux, but
    a correct fstab entry must be made.

    Does anyone have any experience in mounting affs ?

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:q: how do you include affs in your fstab ?

    hmmm -- Try this ::

    mount -t affs /dev/hdd1 /mnt/amiga1200 (or whereever)

    And here is what I found for a man page on mount ::

    Mount options for affs
    uid=value and gid=value
    Set the owner and group of the root of the file system (default:
    uid=gid=0, but with option uid or gid without specified value,
    the uid and gid of the current process are taken).

    setuid=value and setgid=value
    Set the owner and group of all files.

    mode=value
    Set the mode of all files to value & 0777 disregarding the orig‐
    inal permissions. Add search permission to directories that
    have read permission. The value is given in octal.

    protect
    Do not allow any changes to the protection bits on the file sys‐
    tem.

    usemp Set uid and gid of the root of the file system to the uid and
    gid of the mount point upon the first sync or umount, and then
    clear this option. Strange...

    verbose
    Print an informational message for each successful mount.

    prefix=string
    Prefix used before volume name, when following a link.

    volume=string
    Prefix (of length at most 30) used before ’/’ when following a
    symbolic link.

    reserved=value

    (Default: 2.) Number of unused blocks at the start of the
    device.

    root=value
    Give explicitly the location of the root block.

    bs=value
    Give blocksize. Allowed values are 512, 1024, 2048, 4096.

    grpquota / noquota / quota / usrquota
    These options are accepted but ignored. (However, quota utili‐
    ties may react to such strings in /etc/fstab.)

    −t vfstype
    The argument following the −t is used to indicate the file sys‐
    tem type. The file system types which are currently supported
    are: adfs, affs, autofs, coda, coherent, cramfs, devpts, efs,
    ext, ext2, ext3, hfs, hpfs, iso9660, jfs, minix, msdos, ncpfs,
    nfs, ntfs, proc, qnx4, reiserfs, romfs, smbfs, sysv, tmpfs, udf,
    ufs, umsdos, vfat, xenix, xfs, xiafs. Note that coherent, sysv
    and xenix are equivalent and that xenix and coherent will be
    removed at some point in the future — use sysv instead. Since
    kernel version 2.1.21 the types ext and xiafs do not exist any‐
    more.

    For most types all the mount program has to do is issue a simple
    mount(2) system call, and no detailed knowledge of the filesys‐
    tem type is required. For a few types however (like nfs, smbfs,
    ncpfs) ad hoc code is necessary. The nfs ad hoc code is built
    in, but smbfs and ncpfs have a separate mount program. In order
    to make it possible to treat all types in a uniform way, mount
    will execute the program /sbin/mount.TYPE (if that exists) when
    called with type TYPE. Since various versions of the smbmount
    program have different calling conventions, /sbin/mount.smb may
    have to be a shell script that sets up the desired call.

    The type iso9660 is the default. If no −t option is given, or
    if the auto type is specified, the superblock is probed for the
    filesystem type (adfs, bfs, cramfs, ext, ext2, ext3, hfs, hpfs,
    iso9660, jfs, minix, ntfs, qnx4, reiserfs, romfs, udf, ufs,
    vxfs, xfs, xiafs are supported). If this probe fails, mount
    will try to read the file /etc/filesystems, or, if that does not
    exist, /proc/filesystems. All of the filesystem types listed
    there will be tried, except for those that are labeled "nodev"
    (e.g., devpts, proc and nfs). If /etc/filesystems ends in a
    line with a single * only, mount will read /proc/filesystems
    afterwards.

    The auto type may be useful for user‐mounted floppies. Creating
    a file /etc/filesystems can be useful to change the probe order
    (e.g., to try vfat before msdos) or if you use a kernel module
    autoloader. Warning: the probing uses a heuristic (the presence
    of appropriate ‘magic’), and could recognize the wrong filesys‐
    tem type, possibly with catastrophic consequences. If your data
    is valuable, don’t ask mount to guess.

    More than one type may be specified in a comma separated list.
    The list of file system types can be prefixed with no to specify
    the file system types on which no action should be taken. (This
    can be meaningful with the −a option.)

    For example, the command:
    mount −a −t nomsdos,ext
    mounts all file systems except those of type msdos and ext.
    I saw while previewing that the last section got messed up, hit reply with quote and read it that way, or recheck your man page for it. Sorry, somethings screwy with the board ???

  3. #3

    Re:q: how do you include affs in your fstab ?

    A shot in the dark, but I think you need to make sure your kernel supports that file system. I don't think it does out of the box. However, I have never use Mandrake, so I am not sure.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    472

    Re:q: how do you include affs in your fstab ?

    [me=ph34r]agrees with the above - you need kernel support (either in kernel or as module) for that file system.[/me]

  5. #5

    Re:q: how do you include affs in your fstab ?

    Mandrake 9.0 does indeed include the affs file system in the kernel.
    It's up and running now -all i needed to do was to make the path in the
    fstab.
    Thanks for the suggestions

Similar Threads

  1. Ubuntu ?? - Should I include "Universe" packages?
    By Compunuts in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-09-2005, 07:40 PM
  2. help with fstab
    By Dswissmiss in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2004, 09:05 PM
  3. /etc/fstab
    By rwtoften in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-06-2003, 08:57 PM
  4. fstab
    By muppet-boy in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-03-2003, 09:20 PM
  5. Include in path?
    By mmiller9 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2002, 10:47 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •