Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Kernel
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kernel

mugs

Kernel

what do I need to do to update my kernel. I currently have 2.4.18. I downloaded 'patch2.4.20.gz' Will that do it? I am really not sure what I need to do. I am hoping an update to the kernel might help with my sound, etc issues. I would have thought I could get it from Suse, but I dont see where.

Thanks.

I also downloaded 'kernel-source-2.4.19.Suse-56.x86_64.rpm'

Re:Kernel

Sorry i am no expert at this, but i know that GLO has an OMP on kernels. Also, what documentation came with it. (In Redhat, all of that is taken care of with up2date)

mugs

Ok, thanks. I am now using Mandrake 9.0 and it has a little newer kernel.

are you still interested in updating that kernel? it isn't that hard if you'd still like to try

mugs

Yes, I am thanks. I run Mandrake 9.0 now. They are going to release 9.1 soon, but I would like to give it a try before then.

it is as easy as getting the kernel sources :-X and installing them. that will setup a directory named /usr/src/linux2.4.xx (i believe off the top of my head). o one thing i recommend that you get is the configuration from the old kernel in /usr/src/(old kernel number here). so long as you can find it, that is good enough. so, once in /usr/src/linux.2.4.XX and so on, execute these commands:

source /etc/profile
    make menuconfig