Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Just Installed Linux

Thread: Just Installed Linux

OneManAlone

Just Installed Linux

Hi. I'm very new to Linux, can someone please tell me what is so different about Linux then windows? Someone was talking about how much freedom you have with Linux, what do they mean freedom? what can you do with linux that cant be done with windows, and why do people use linux over windows? Please tell me everything you all can about Linux and whats diffrerent and what you can do with it.

and another queston is, how do you change the resolution? and how do you log in as root?

Remember, right now I know nothing about Linux but would like to learn!

Thank you

Re:Just Installed Linux

Well when people talk about Linux freedom, more then likely they are speaking of the freedom to choose what you like to use. For example: You can have whatever browser you feel like, whatever window manager, etc... Also along this catagory, it's also free in the way that most of the software for it, such as your CD-Burning applications are free, FTP programs are free, etc...

The reason why people think it's better then windows will vary with each person. My personal opinion is that it doesn't crash, and I'm able to use alot more applications because they are freely avaliable.