Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My $199 Lindows PC and RedHat 8.0

Hybrid View

Clay

My $199 Lindows PC and RedHat 8.0

I just bought a Lindows PC from Walmart for $199.00. It has 128 megs of RAM, an 800 mhz cpu, and a 10 Gig hard drive. It also came with Lindows already installed. I hooked the PC up, plugged it in, and I was on the internet. the whole process took maybe 5 minutes.

I have run Linux 7.2 and recently installed Linux 8.0 -

SO, here is my comparison as a Linux newbie, who escaped from Bill Gates and Microsoft.

I like Lindows. I doubt I will use Microsoft programs on it, even though it runs WINE (Windows emulator). I mean, why run buggy Windows stuff? Isn't that why we left Microsoft for Linux? If you want applications, they are available online, and most of them are FREE!!!

One thing I like about Lindows is its "Click N Run" feature. As a newbie, I struggled on Linux Redhat 7.2 whenever I had to install something. I still hate tar packages and the like. Well, "Click N Run" does away with that. For $99.00, a Lindowes user can use Click N Run to download and install any of nearly 2000 Lindows programs, including Star Office Suite - for no other charge. "Click N Run" will install the program for you. You won;t ever have to untar, gunzip, or rpm anything again. You won;t have to read instructions. You just click on the program you want, and your PC downloads and install it. You Click and then Run, really!

What I like about RedHat Linux 8.0 is that it comes with about any program you want, so you don't really need a Click N Run. Thus it is less expensive over all. I bought my version for less than $5.00, and it came with OpenOffice, GnuCash, and tons of other great applications. It took about 40 minutes to install on my old PC, running a 233 mhz cpu with 98 megs of RAM. That's about the same as a Windows 98 installation.