Thread: Help installing linux mp3 machine.

Halo 99

Help installing linux mp3 machine.

hay i am a expert user of windows and builing machines but when i comes to linux i know nothing really. i have found that GREAT setup for an mp3 machine that runs on linux but i don't know how to do a few things.
    1. i haven't set up linux before and am a bit lost with it.
    2. once installed i want to have no gui on just text for faster loading (i asked a friend that said this will work)
    3. i need help installing the software to the linux machine. (it uses perl and mySQL)

here is the site with all the information
    http://www.giantdisc.com

i have been advised to use red hat 6 because 7 is too new and it is being installed on an old machine.
    thanks.

Re:Help installing linux mp3 machine.

Is there something in specific that we can help with?

for a text prompt, you will want to run at runlevel 3.
    at the command line, type su(to logon as the superuser) and enter the root passwd. then type /sbin/init 3

generally there are a few common ways that devs package software. As an rpm, or a tarball.

you can find more on there installation here.
    http://www.getlinuxonline.com/omp/distro/RedHat/rpm.htm

a tarball is a bit different, but it is a personal choice. i know there was an omp around here somewhere for those. maybe you wouldn't mind finding it for me since i have to go to class :P

Goodluck,

Babbing

Halo 99

well that kind of made sence. i know how to install the program kind of.
    well here.
    first problem
    1.i need a copy of red hat 6.2 (i have ADSL so i can download it quite quick)

and 2. i need to know how to install linux with out gui so i just boots up into text mode. (is their a way that i can install the gui and install the programs i need via the gui and then uninstalling it and just running in text based mode from then on.)
    thanks

a copy of rh 6.2 can be dug up at www.redhat.com . jsut look for the iso's