Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: checking partitions, hdb: lost interrupt (zip100 drive)

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    HuFlungDung
    Guest

    checking partitions, hdb: lost interrupt (zip100 drive)

    I'm a Linux newbie. I got the SuSE Linux8.0 package.

    checking partitions..
    hdb: lost interrupt
    lost interrupt
    lost interrupt etc
    (hdb = zip100 drive)

    I first noticed this error on initial installation, so I rebooted and went to "Safe install" or something like that, and the installation went without a hitch. I actually made it through several warm boots and was in looking around in the GUI, but not yet doing anything. I do know that the zip drive was visible in Konqueror, so somehow the linux system does recognize it. BTW, this is a dual boot ME computer, and I know all the hardware works in windows.

    So now, after the machine has been off, and cold booting to Linux, I cannot get past this message area, in regular boot or
    safe boot.

    There must be a boot parameter that will skip this "checking partitions. lost interrupt" stuff on the zip drive. Can you enlighten me?

    Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    HuFlungDung
    Guest

    Re:checking partitions, hdb: lost interrupt (zip100 drive)

    I stumbled across a parameter to add to the boot command line, after running setup again and seeing exactly how "hdb" is described in the partitioning setup. Or maybe I saw this description earlier in the boot up process, I can't remember:

    Linux /dev/hdb=hdb4

    This seems to identify the zip drive "partition" properly and boot proceeds normally.

    I'm a bit hazy as to how I incorporate these extra parameters into my default boot procedure. I've logged in as root, and poked around in /etc, but I'm not having much luck at determining where or how I would insert this information.

    I'd appreciate a pointer or two. Also do you think there is much chance of ever getting a Diamond Supramax 56k "winmodem type of modem" to work in Linux?

  3. #3
    HuFlungDung
    Guest

    Re:checking partitions, hdb: lost interrupt (zip100 drive)

    Actually, I've discovered that this "fix" only works if I have a disk in the zip drive. Once I am into the Linux GUI, then even though I can unmount the drive, I cannot eject the disk.

    What is the solution to this problem?

Similar Threads

  1. Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt
    By JockVSJock in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-19-2003, 07:07 PM
  2. lost interrupt during install
    By S_D_Willie in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 02:38 PM
  3. Lost Interrupt
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-25-2002, 01:47 PM
  4. checking partitions, zip drive in Linux
    By HuFlungDung in forum Suse
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-12-2002, 01:38 AM
  5. Lost interrupt?
    By johnqpublic in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-07-2001, 02:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •