Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Dual Boot: Linux and Win ME, Please help

Thread: Dual Boot: Linux and Win ME, Please help

Hybrid View

uma

Dual Boot: Linux and Win ME, Please help

Hello,
    I am very new to Linux world. I have fought with my PC for 3 days to install Red Hat Linux. My default OS is Windows Me. So I made two partitions like C:\ and D:\.

C:\ consists of Windows Me and D:\ consists of Red Hat Linux 7.0
    My D:\ consists of only 2 files, they are
    REDHAT.IMG (1.82 GB)
    RH-SWAP.IMG (127 MB)

The installation is complete. But during the installation, Linux has asked me to place a new formatted floppy into the floppy drive for making it a bootable floppy. I have followed the instructions.

Now when I start my PC, the default OS Windows Me comes, I am not given options like

Microsoft Windows Me
    Red Hat Linux 7.0

So that I can choose one OS to boot.

If I need to start working with Linux, I need to place the bootable floppy created during the installation time and restart my PC. This is not my option, as I cannot place the floppy every time I start working with Linux.

MY REQUIREMENT

When I start my PC, I wanted to see both the options like

Windows Me
    Redhat Linux
    Time : 30 sec

So, that I can choose the required OS to boot.

Please help me.

Thanks
    Uma
    Java Developer
    http://www.javagalaxy.com

Re:Dual Boot: Linux and Win ME, Please help

right...
    what you have done is installed linux on a windows partition.
    it works, but isn't really recomended for a workable linux installation.