Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: G-force card

  1. #1

    G-force card

    Okie dokie dokie......
    omg tryin to get the gforce drivers workin in linux. And guess wot? Stuck at the start of it all???

    went to
    http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?PAGE=linux

    an lo an behold there r so many drivers i dun know wot im doin.

    now im runnin a 1Ghz athlon with a G-force 2 mx 400 with RedHat 7.3

    I believe this is an i686?

    or so the login screen says?

    So whats the difference between a
    RedHat 7.3 UP Athlon Architecture
    or a
    RedHat 7.3 SMP Athlon Architecture
    or a
    RedHat 7.3 UP i686 Architecture
    or a
    RedHat 7.3 SMP i686 Architecture
    or a
    RedHat 7.3 Bigmem i686 Architecture

    omg an more too

    Can anyone guide this newbie through this mess ??

    Thks in advance ;D
    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

  2. #2
    mountainman
    Guest

    Re:G-force card

    Not to worry mate. I did this just two days ago with my Riva tnt2 card. Look on the page for a link to NVchooser. Once you download that, you need to do two things to it.
    1) run this command : dos2unix NVchooser.sh

    This will get rid of all of the formatting done by windows.

    2) next do this: chmod +x NVchooser.sh

    this will make it execuatable.

    now just ./NVchooser.sh

    This will then analyze your system and tell you what you need. The rpm install is fairly painless. Just download and install the rpms (DO THIS IN TEXT MODE, NOT IN XWINDOWS!!) Use rpm -ivh rpmnamehere to install an rpm in text mode (or cli as it is known).
    Also follow the readme!! You have to modify part of your X11config-4 file to get it to work. Good luck and drop me a line if you have any problems.

  3. #3

    Re:G-force card

    This will get rid of all of the formatting done by windows.
    What do u mean by that? Plus its on a duel boot system where I use windows the most(games) so do I want it to get rid of windows formatting?

    You have to modify part of your X11config-4 file to get it to work.
    Like wot ? lol

    thanks mm (big thumbs up!)
    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

  4. #4
    mountainman
    Guest

    Re:G-force card

    No harm will be done to your hard drive. It simply removes the formatting done by whatever windows application that they wrote the shell script in. As far as the modification to the X11config-4 file, the readme tells you exactly what you need to do, its basically commenting out 2 lines and changing the driver from "nv" to "nvidia". Like I said, the readme is more reliable on this. Once you get all that done, start x again and you should see an nvidia screen before x comes up. That means your good to go.

  5. #5
    Aaron_Adams
    Guest

    Re:G-force card

    Hi Friskydrifter,

    What you want is the: RedHat 7.3 UP Athlon Architecture

    UP stands for Uni Processing which just means there is one processor
    SMP stands for Symmetric Multi Processing which means you have more then one. The code is often different for UP and SMP systems, due to things I won't bother getting into now.

    Since you have an athlon 1ghz, naturally you want the file that is coded specifically for your arch.

    Hope that helps.

    Good luck.

    Aaron


  6. #6

    Re:G-force card

    OK guys thanks a lot for the help.

    Still a few things tho.

    1 the rpms didnt work when i used dos2unix commands on them. When i tried to install rpms I got mesages like:
    Segmentation Fault (for the kernel rpm)
    dataLength () RPM_STRING_TYPE count must be 1 (for the GLX)

    Anyway tried installing without doing dos2unix and it worked! yay - got the X86Config-4 file edited like the README said and "startx". Viola , the nvidia screen came up and then no probs from there ;D

    The only thing is hao do i change the resolution? It seems to be in 640 x 480?

    well cheers for helping with the drivers anyway :-* LOL
    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

  7. #7

    Re:G-force card

    Actually its cool. Just worked out ther resolution.
    In the /etc/X11/XF86Config-4

    Under:

    Section Screen
    Subsection Display
    Modes "1024x768"

    Hope i did that right and didnt do it somewhere else?
    Well thanks - u deserve a beer



    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

  8. #8

    Re:G-force card

    yep, thats where it should be, but make sure it is under the colour depth that you are actually using

    DefaultDepth 24 <--
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 24 <--
    Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    whatdoyougetwhenyoumultiplysixbynine??

  9. #9

    Re:G-force card

    Yep 24 bits of goodtimes heh heh heh

    frisky
    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

  10. #10
    mountainman
    Guest

    Re:G-force card

    Sorry about that. You just needed to run dos2unix on the shell script, NVchooser, not the rpms. Glad it worked for you and hope I was able to help.

Similar Threads

  1. Ssh brute force
    By Outlaw in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-11-2004, 07:37 PM
  2. Delta Force!
    By johnqpublic in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-01-2003, 03:56 AM
  3. Strike Force 1.75 out now
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-12-2002, 12:38 PM
  4. Brute force?
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-26-2002, 03:20 AM
  5. Where to get Strike-Force?
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-04-2001, 07:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •