Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Mandrake 8.1 & 8.2 BOOT - Page 2

View Poll Results: Why I have a 5 min. stop during the boot??

Voters
0. You may not vote on this poll
  • 0 0%
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Mandrake 8.1 & 8.2 BOOT

  1. #11
    Spot
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 8.1 & 8.2 BOOT

    Quote Originally Posted by DrWhOz
    cat /etc/hosts

    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    192.168.0.1 server
    Problem here ^^^^^
    It's a "one word hostname", like was mentioned previously. You can safely remove the line "192.168.0.1 server" from your hosts file.
    cat /etc/sysconfig/network

    NETWORKING=yes
    FORWARD_IPV4=false
    HOSTNAME=server
    again ^^^^^^^^
    The "one word hostname"
    Change that line to read:
    HOSTNAME=
    cat /etc/sysconfig/networking/profiles/default/network

    NO SUCH FILE OR DIRECTORY
    Don't worry about not having that file.

    Hopefully after all this something positive will happen

  2. #12

    Re:Mandrake 8.1 & 8.2 BOOT

    cool, thanks spot.
    that /etc/hosts entry with 192.168.0.1 is just what i have to remove to get my comp worling proper again ;D ;D
    whatdoyougetwhenyoumultiplysixbynine??

  3. #13
    DrWhOz
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 8.1 & 8.2 BOOT

    I'm afraid... It does not works!!! :-\
    I modified the files as you suggested me, but NOTHING change in the boot. But now when I log as "root" it tells me
    "Impossible to solve internet address for server. It's possible to solve the problem adding server to the file /etc/hosts". I always choosed "continue without add". I verified more than once that those files were modified and they are right. But the "5 min stop" is the same as before...
    I want to report you the starting of my boot:

    - running DevFs daemon
    - Unmounting initrd
    - config. kernel parameters
    - setting clock (localtime):.......
    - loading keyboard
    - name host localhost (this before was server)
    - checking root filesystem
    /dev/hda1:clean,73050/448000 files, 234058/895615
    blocks
    - remounting root filesystem in read-write mode
    - swap partitions activation
    - finding module dependancies (OK in 2 sec.)
    HERE THERE IS THE 5 MIN STOP
    - checking filesystems
    - mounting local filesystems
    And so on...

    All the options before (and after) the stop point received an "OK" in a very fast way, and then the system boot up in a perfect way, without any problem.
    I really don't know what I can do... Have I to return to Win?? :-X
    DrWhOz.

  4. #14
    Spot
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 8.1 & 8.2 BOOT

    Unfortunately, I don't know where to go next :-\

  5. #15
    DrWhOz
    Guest

    Re:Mandrake 8.1 & 8.2 BOOT

    Thanks a lot anyway Spot! Thanks for all the time you spent for me!!
    I think that I'll try again, also to reinstall or to install another version (I have SuSe too). I really love Linux, also if I'm a newbie... I have a lot of experience with Win and Dos, but I think that Linux is better! So I WANT to use (and to learn ;D it!). I'll always read this board, and I want to read anything about Linux/Unix (if you have any suggestion...).
    Just the last thing: if I want to delete ALL the Linux partitions BEFORE reinstall the system, how can I do it? On the HD I have just Linux, so no problems! Another thing: so, reinstalling Linux I have to avoid the PC name (as server for ex.) and the IP (192.168.0.1 for ex.)??
    Many many thanks to you and to all that have helped me!!
    Have a good work Spot!! I hope to hear from you soon on this board! For anything I want you know my mail address:
    drwhozzz@hotmail.com
    CIAO!!!
    DrWhOz.

Similar Threads

  1. Dual boot mandrake with win2kpro
    By grasshopper in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-19-2005, 10:51 PM
  2. Dual boot Mandrake 10 and WinXP problems
    By Joey in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 07-02-2005, 09:24 PM
  3. Mandrake takes a long time to boot
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 10-19-2003, 11:00 PM
  4. Mandrake & LILO in mbr - can't boot from hda3
    By x in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-25-2003, 07:06 PM
  5. XP Pro & Mandrake 9 dual boot
    By nomadfemme in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2002, 06:54 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •