Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How can a winmodem work under RedHat.

shahan01

How can a winmodem work under RedHat.

Hi all! actually i am new to Linux and just trying to shift from Windows to Linux. Everything works fine under Linux except my modem :-[ V.90 Motorolla(internal).Can anyone suggest me how can i get it working ???.Plz keep in mind that i am new to Linux so try to be as breifing as you can.
    Looking forward to all the 'Linux Thinktanks'

johnqpublic

Re:How can a winmodem work under RedHat.

Hi,and welcome to GLO!
    There are drivers for some Motorola modems (is yours PCI?).If you know the chipset/model No.of your modem you might try www.linmodems.org to see if there is a driver available for your specific model.JimH is perty sharp with Redhat and when he is back on he will give you some good details on getting them installed.

JimH

Quote Originally Posted by johnqpublic
    JimH is perty sharp with Redhat and when he is back on he will give you some good details on getting them installed.
    My usual advice is to buy a "real" modem. :P

You need to find out the exact make/model/chipset of your modem. Then like johnq mentioned check http://www.linmodems.org to see if it is supported at all before you pull your hair out trying to get it to work.

Jim H

shahan01

Thank you guys for replying! Unfortunately i have already visited the site you mentioned but without luck! :-[ Plz give some other suggestions or names of other websites where i can find the driver of my modem. And yes my modem is PCI. its SM56 Motorolla V.90(internal).

shahan01

Hey guys tell u what ...i fianally found a driver for my modem ;D at"http://ewww.motorola.com/products/softmodem/support/" and download the driver rpm. I have not tried it yet but i hope it works :-*

JimH

Quote Originally Posted by shahan
    I have not tried it yet but i hope it works :-*