Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Accessing WindowMaker

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    269

    Accessing WindowMaker

    Was having a lot of minor glitches with WIndowMaker (installed from the Mandrake 8.2 disks) so took it off and re-installed it from a tarball. Now I am unable to access it. Made a file (.xsession) and placed the following in it: "exec WindowMaker&quot. Still no luck. Any suggestions?

  2. #2

    Re: Accessing WindowMaker

    how are you entering X ? and what do ay get when ya enter which wmaker?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    269

    Re: Accessing WindowMaker

    Was entering at level five - changed it to enter at text only. which wmaker returned: "usr/local/bin/wmaker" I changed the .xsession file to read "EXEC wmaker" hoping to access it thru the default but no luck.
    how are you entering X ? and what do ay get when ya enter which wmaker?

  4. #4

    Re: Accessing WindowMaker

    hello,
    try exec /usr/local/wmaker ...

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    269

    Re: Accessing WindowMaker

    Tried that but same result - opened in KDE. (There are times when KDE reminds me of Windoze).
    hello,
    try exec /usr/local/wmaker ...

  6. #6

    Re: Accessing WindowMaker

    do ya have a ~/.xinitrc ? if so try putting the commands in there, if not make a link to .xsession - e.g. ln -s .xsssion .xinitrc

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    269

    Re: Accessing WindowMaker

    No, no .xinitrc.
    do ya have a ~/.xinitrc ? if so try putting the commands in there, if not make a link to .xsession - e.g. ln -s .xsssion .xinitrc

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    269

    Re: Accessing WindowMaker

    Problem solved. Gave up and re-installed it - this time in RPM. For some reason my system/Mandrake 8.2 does not like tar versions. Works fine now - what a great window manager!
    ---------------
    Was having a lot of minor glitches with WIndowMaker (installed from the Mandrake 8.2 disks) so took it off and re-installed it from a tarball. Now I am unable to access it. Made a file (.xsession) and placed the following in it: "exec WindowMaker&quot. Still no luck. Any suggestions?

Similar Threads

  1. Accessing the PC I ssh from... how to?!?!
    By azgs in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-01-2007, 01:21 AM
  2. WindowMaker and me
    By cga in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-09-2003, 03:24 PM
  3. WindowMaker
    By papanohair in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-17-2002, 05:26 AM
  4. WindowMaker
    By cga in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-18-2001, 12:49 AM
  5. Using windowmaker instead of kwm in KDE
    By civ1492 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-26-2001, 11:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •