Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Error starting up quake
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Error starting up quake

  1. #1

    Error starting up quake

    As some of you may know, i have been trying the last week to get quake working under linux.
    I am almost there, all the libraries are present and the game actually starts up!
    but...
    this is what happens:
    [alastair@localhost quake]$ ./squake
    Added pakfile ./id1/pak0.pak (339 files)
    Added pakfile ./id1/pak1.pak (85 files)
    Pack file: ./id1/pak1.pak : gfx/pop.lmp
    Playing registered version
    Pack file: ./id1/pak0.pak : gfx.wad
    Console initialized.
    Segmentation fault

    The docs say if there is a seg fault to turn off networking with the -noudp switch:

    [alastair@localhost quake]$ ./squake
    Added pakfile ./id1/pak0.pak (339 files)
    Added pakfile ./id1/pak1.pak (85 files)
    Pack file: ./id1/pak1.pak : gfx/pop.lmp
    Playing registered version
    Pack file: ./id1/pak0.pak : gfx.wad
    Console initialized.
    Exe: 15:28:15 Aug 7 1997
    8.0 Megabyte heap
    Pack file: ./id1/pak0.pak : gfx/palette.lmp
    Pack file: ./id1/pak0.pak : gfx/colormap.lmp
    Segmentation fault

    and it stops again
    ive searched all google but still can't find a fix, which is very odd....
    does anyone have any ideas??
    Thanks,

    Alastair
    whatdoyougetwhenyoumultiplysixbynine??

  2. #2
    stodgel
    Guest

    Re:Error starting up quake

    I was wondering if you ever got Quake running, because I'm trying to get Quake2 running and I can't even get it started.

  3. #3

    Re:Error starting up quake

    nup, gave up long time ago :P :P :P
    ok, so what have you done etc? we'll see what happens...
    whatdoyougetwhenyoumultiplysixbynine??

  4. #4
    stodgel
    Guest

    Re:Error starting up quake

    I installed the i_o_quake2-0.15.run. I didn't have very much to go on, I didn't know where to find any good documentation on this. When I tried to run it this is what I got:

    Quake 2 -- Version 3.21+rCVS
    using /root/.quake2/baseq2/ for writing
    couldn't exec default.cfg
    couldn't exec config.cfg
    Console initialized.

    ------- sound initialization -------
    /dev/dsp: Input/output error
    SNDDMA_Init: Could not mmap /dev/dsp.
    ------- Loading ref_softx.so -------
    LoadLibrary("ref_softx.so") failed: No such file or directory
    Refresh failed
    recursive shutdown
    Error: Couldn't fall back to software refresh!
    [root@localhost bin]# ./quake2
    Quake 2 -- Version 3.21+rCVS
    using /root/.quake2/baseq2/ for writing
    couldn't exec default.cfg
    couldn't exec config.cfg
    Console initialized.

    ------- sound initialization -------
    /dev/dsp: Input/output error
    SNDDMA_Init: Could not mmap /dev/dsp.
    ------- Loading ref_softx.so -------
    LoadLibrary("ref_softx.so") failed: No such file or directory
    Refresh failed
    recursive shutdown
    Error: Couldn't fall back to software refresh!
    [root@localhost bin]# cd /usr/local/games
    [root@localhost games]# quake2
    Quake 2 -- Version 3.21+rCVS
    using /root/.quake2/baseq2/ for writing
    couldn't exec default.cfg
    couldn't exec config.cfg
    Console initialized.

    ------- sound initialization -------
    /dev/dsp: Input/output error
    SNDDMA_Init: Could not mmap /dev/dsp.
    ------- Loading ref_softx.so -------
    LoadLibrary("ref_softx.so") failed: No such file or directory
    Refresh failed
    recursive shutdown
    Error: Couldn't fall back to software refresh!
    [root@localhost games]#

    It seems, once again, like a sound problem. You know, since I had the problem before about not being able to have sound on boot up, I re-installed MDK 9.1, anyway That's not a problem anymore, but I also have Quake3 and RTCW installed and I have no sound on those either. After I installed RTCW I lost my sound on NWN. I then just ran ./fixinstall and the sound worked again. I don't know what's going on, but I sure would like to get these games working with sound. I would love to get Quake2 running period.

Similar Threads

  1. Quake 4 for Linux
    By vern in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-21-2005, 12:04 AM
  2. error starting kde3. please help?
    By Stuart in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-31-2002, 02:19 AM
  3. Want to Quake?
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 06-23-2002, 01:23 AM
  4. quake 3 demo
    By agar in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-25-2001, 05:53 PM
  5. quake 2
    By agar in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-25-2001, 03:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •