Thread: How to connect to a network

alloy

How to connect to a network

Hi there Everyone ,
    I installed RedHat 7.2 ( Full installation ) on a PC at my frens cafe . The cafe used a linux as a server to dial-in to the internet and other win98 PC share the internet connection .
    Question is -> How do I configure the RedHat that I installed to use the same internet or network as the othe win98 PCs .
    I tried configuring the network configuration on the RedHat and the KickStart configurator . Since I'm a newbie I don't know what I should put and where it should be .
    The linux server is called a gateway right . The netmask I see win98 use 255.255.255.0 . Can anyone tell me in detail where should I type in the IP or what should I do .
    Thanks in advance .

JimH

Re:How to connect to a network

Quote Originally Posted by alloy
    The linux server is called a gateway right . The netmask I see win98 use 255.255.255.0 . Can anyone tell me in detail where should I type in the IP or what should I do .
    Thanks in advance .
    Yes the linux server is the gateway. What you put for the IP depends on how your friends network is configured. How does he assign IP addresses to the Win98 clients? Is he using DHCP or does each Win98 client have a static IP?

Jim H

alloy

every win98 PC has a static IP . The server also has a static IP .

kyiu

8) You need to run a Masquerading firewall. Download this from this from http://www.redhat.com/support/resour...llservice.html . Modify the IP address to match your site. Follow the instruction. Install it, and enjoy the internet share.

Ken

JimH

Quote Originally Posted by alloy
    every win98 PC has a static IP . The server also has a static IP .
    You just need to set the gateway IP to the Linux servers IP and set the IP of your box to an unused address in using the same range as your friends network. Do you understand?

Jim H

Quote Originally Posted by JimH