Thread: error message

and1088

error message

First of all, I'm a newbie. I'm trying to run insmod to install a driver for my ethernet card, however I get an error message. I was wondering if anyone could tell me what it meant:

[begin]
    ...root net]# insmod il
    using /lib/modules/2.4.3-20mdk/kernel/net/il.o
    /lib/modules/2.4.3-20mdk/kernel/net/il.o: unresolved symbol cpu_raise_softirq
    [end]
    ???

By the way, I'm running Mandrake 8.0 with, of course, kernel 2.4.3-20. Thanks So much!

JimH

Re:error message

That is going to be a bug. More then likely with that version of your NIC driver. I am not familiar with Mandrake is the kernel you are using the original kernel from 8.0? You might look and see if there is an updated kernel available from Mandrake. This will be the easiest way for you to upgrade the kernel.

What NIC do you have?

Jim H

and1088

Yes, it is the original kernel from Mandrake. I have the DLINK-DHN 520 NIC (HPNA 2.0). I found a driver for the Broadcom42XX chip (which is on the card). off of the linksys website, actually ftp site.
    See www.homepna.org/support/faqs.html #4 driver for linux I did everything except step 7: "temporarily install the module by executing ``insmod il", where it gives me the error.
    I tried recompiling kernels already, sort of, except I got an error on ``make zImage". I'm afraid to copy it over to lilo. By the way, I was using kernel 2.4.9 then. Should I use a different version? Thanks for helping!

I believe it was ur exact card I had issues with before.....use the tulip driver....I have yet to find a nic that the tulip driver doesn't work for. Just recompile ur kernel with the tulip module installed!

Aragorn

P.S. Welcome to GLO
    If you give a man a fire he'll be warm, if you light the man on fire he'll be warm for life.

and1088