Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AMD vs Pentium

Hybrid View

feihung08

AMD vs Pentium

Ok, I'm getting ready to build a system, and I will be running a dual boot with Windows and Red Hat (maybe, I'm starting to think about Mandrake if what I heard is true about AOL+RH), but I'm trying to understand just how compatible Linux is with AMD processors?!?! This is probably just a ridiculus question, but I've heard some people say that it's not as compatible with AMD, so don't laugh at me, I'm just getting into this whole Linux/Unix universe!! I want to run an AMD XP, but if I can't take full advantage of Linux (in the long run) I will go with a P4.

So what do you think? :o

Re:AMD vs Pentium

I personally prefer AMD....they do more work per cycle and I think they are just better all around chips.

As far as incompatibilities I don't know of any. These guys might know of something, but I don't.

I think you should still stick with Mandrake since you are just getting your feet wet. Once you get past that and feel against their business practices, then go with RH or maybe be cool and use an apt-get system like Debian! ;D

Aragorn
    If you give a man a fire he'll be warm, if you light the man on fire he'll be warm for life.

JimH

I prefer AMD myself. I just built a new system with an AMD Athlon 1800+ 1.53Ghz. Running Red Hat 7.2. It has been working great.

Specs on my system. All of this isn't new. Some of this is from my old system.

Red Hat 7.2, installed flawlessly :-) all updates applied

XFree86-4.2.0-0.6.1 -- beta RPM's not included with RH 7.2
    kernel-2.4.17-0.16 Althon optimized kernel

Althon 1800+ 1.53Ghz
    Epox 8KHA+ motherboard
    768MB Crucial PC2100 DDR
    Radeon 7500, Retail boxed, not OEM
    IBM 120GXP 80GB hard drive, going to have to add another one ;-)
    Adaptec 2930CU SCSI controller, for cd's
    Teac CD-532S 32x SCSI CD-ROM
    Plextor PX-W1210TS 12x/10x/32x SCSI CD-RW
    Sound Blaster Live
    Linksys NIC
    Supermicro SC-760P4 Case