Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Intel MD563x on RH7.1 for MSN

Thread: Intel MD563x on RH7.1 for MSN

Hybrid View

plantiful

Intel MD563x on RH7.1 for MSN

I'm a newbie to Linux- so far so good.
    I am currently trying to get a PPP connection to MSN, but first I need to get the system to recognize the modem. It is an Intel HaM MD563x using the kernel 2.4 driver "408-2". During bootup, there is a line stating something regarding the obsolete /dev/cua, which is the older serial port device. I can dial out using Minicom, but the system does not otherwise recognise the modem (using the Dialup configuration utility in the GNOME desktop). Is Minicom using the cua device? If so, is there a way to assign a ttyS to a cua device?

Also, providing that I can get to MSN, what other parameters might be needed to run PPP? Through Minicom, I was able to get a login and password, but it returned 'Bad Password' when I tried to login. Could this be an authentication problem?

Any help will be appreciated!
    thanks, Plantiful

Re: Intel MD563x on RH7.1 for MSN

Your in luck, I have had this EXACT problem, I even have MSN!

First, CUA is being driven out of the kernel in subsititution for TtySx(x being your port 0 for com1, 1 for com2, etc...) You have to actually figure out what port your modem is on. So do it this way if you don't know already

setserial -a /dev/ttyS0
    do that through all the numbers 0 - 3 to test all ports...you'll see which one is the modem because it will have the baud and the 16550A junk...