Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Lost interrupt?
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Lost interrupt?

  1. #1
    johnqpublic
    Guest

    Lost interrupt?

    Ok,I compiled 2.4.13 kernel rebooted and this is what happened after it did its hardware check and what not

    Partition check:
    hde; lost interrupt
    hde; lost interrupt


    I am cabled to IDE 3 which is UDMA-100 hence the "hde" instead of IDE-1 or 2 (UDMA-33,66).My partition is hde3 and this has not happened with other kernels on this controller.Do I have a partition table prob?Anyone have a solution to this? Mobo is Abit KA7-100 with HPT-370 chipset.IDE-3,4 are UDMA-100.I mention all this as I feel this may be a cause of my prob.

    Oh,this is happening in SuSE7.2

  2. #2
    JimH
    Guest

    Re: Lost interrupt?

    Well, you could always try 2.4.14. It has been released. I'm seen others report the same problem with various kernel versions. Mostly with Via chipsets. Do a google search it will turn up "bunches" of hits. :P I believe it has to do with the kernel expecting an interrupt after switching DMA modes, but not getting one. I don't recall specifics.

    Jim H

  3. #3

    Re: Lost interrupt?

    I remember reading something about this quite a LONG time ago. It had something to do where you had to compile the kernel in ATA-66 mode and then after compilation you could switch it back to ATA-100. But I don't exactly remember all the gory details, so this is could be a fart in the wind....

    Aragorn
    If you give a man a fire he'll be warm, if you light the man on fire he'll be warm for life.

  4. #4
    johnqpublic
    Guest

    Re: Lost interrupt?

    Well, you could always try 2.4.14. It has been released. I'm seen others report the same problem with various kernel versions. Mostly with Via chipsets. Do a google search it will turn up "bunches" of hits. :P I believe it has to do with the kernel expecting an interrupt after switching DMA modes, but not getting one. I don't recall specifics.

    Jim H
    This is an Athlon board with a Via chipset.I'll take another look in Bios and see if settings could be a prob and then try google.Aragorn,I understand your point but I just don't remember this happening with any other Kernel and I compile the same as always.Thanks JimH and Aragorn.Anyone else have ideas post away!


  5. #5
    johnqpublic
    Guest

    Re: Lost interrupt?

    Solved! Forgot to choose "yes" for Via chipset support when configuring my kernel.I Feel like an idiot.Kernel works fine now.Thanks for the input.

  6. #6

    Re: Lost interrupt?

    Key: When compiling kernel for VIA chipset, be sure to include support for VIA chipset!

    ;D ;D

    Aragorn
    If you give a man a fire he'll be warm, if you light the man on fire he'll be warm for life.

  7. #7
    johnqpublic
    Guest

    Re: Lost interrupt?

    Agreed!

Similar Threads

  1. Erorr Message: HDC: Lost Interrupt
    By JockVSJock in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-19-2003, 07:07 PM
  2. lost interrupt during install
    By S_D_Willie in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 02:38 PM
  3. Lost Interrupt
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-25-2002, 01:47 PM
  4. checking partitions, hdb: lost interrupt (zip100 drive)
    By HuFlungDung in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-04-2002, 11:59 PM
  5. VIA2 slot interrupt stuck
    By HKFranz in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-15-2001, 09:43 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •