Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Network Not Working In Debian

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    51

    Network Not Working In Debian

    I am trying to install debian on my wife's computer. It already has Windows XP installeld and running on its own partition and used to have Mandrake 10 on another Partition. Both WindowsXP and Madrake 10 recognized all hardware components including the built in network chipset.
    I tried different debian CDs including Sarge testing net-install and Etch testing net-install and finally Sarge Stable DVD from Linux Format Magazine Cover CD. All these CDs have the same problem.. network is not work-ing :-)
    I even tested the network chipset by using Knoppix Live 4.0 DVD and it was detected and automatically configure properly.
    Here are some information I gathered so far, and all help is greatly appreciated:

    Built-in Network Chipset
    Code:
    Intel(R) PRO/100 VE
    uname -a
    Code:
    Linux farabi 2.6.8-2-686 #1 Thu May 19 17:53:30 JST 2005 i686 GNU/Linux
    /etc/resolve.conf
    Code:
    search lan
    nameserver 10.0.0.138
    /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    # The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 10.0.0.2
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    network 10.0.0.0
    broadcast 10.0.0.255
    gateway 10.0.0.138
    # dns-* options are implemented by the resolvconf package, if installed
    dns-nameservers 10.0.0.138
    dns-search lan
    ping -c 3 10.0.0.138
    Code:
    PING 10.0.0.138 (10.0.0.138) 56(84) bytes of data.
    From 10.0.0.2 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.0.2 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
    From 10.0.0.2 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
    
    --- 10.0.0.138 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 0 received, +3 errors, 100% packet loss, time 1999ms
    , pipe 3
    ifconfig
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:E2:4E:AC:F1  
              inet addr:10.0.0.2  Bcast:10.0.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              inet6 addr: fe80::200:e2ff:fe4e:acf1/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:27 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:27 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:2544 (2.4 KiB)  TX bytes:2544 (2.4 KiB)
    lspci
    Code:
    0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82815 815 Chipset Host Bridge and Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
    0000:00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corp. 82815 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller] (rev 02)
    0000:00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801BA IDE U100 (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM USB (Hub #1) (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM SMBus (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.4 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM USB (Hub #2) (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio (rev 02)
    0000:01:00.0 Multimedia audio controller: Avance Logic Inc. ALS4000 Audio Chipset
    0000:01:01.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro] (rev 15)
    0000:01:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller (rev 01)
    lsmod | grep e100
    Code:
    e100                   32608  0 
    mii                     5120  1 e100
    dmesg | grep eth
    Code:
    e100: eth0: e100_probe: addr 0x80120000, irq 11, MAC addr 00:00:E2:4E:AC:F1
    e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    NETDEV WATCHDOG: eth0: transmit timed out
    e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    eth0: no IPv6 routers present
    dmesg | grep e100
    Code:
    e100: Intel(R) PRO/100 Network Driver, 3.0.18
    e100: Copyright(c) 1999-2004 Intel Corporation
    e100: eth0: e100_probe: addr 0x80120000, irq 11, MAC addr 00:00:E2:4E:AC:F1
    e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    /etc/network/options
    Code:
    ip_forward=no
    spoofprotect=yes
    syncookies=no

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    51

    Re:Network Not Working In Debian

    Windows Settings:
    Code:
    Location: PCI Slot 4 (PCI bus 1, device 8, function 0)
    Memory Usage: 80120000-80120FFF
    I/O Range: 70C0-70FF
    IRQ: 10
    IP, Mask, Gateway, DNS: same as Debian

  3. #3
    Mentor Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nb.ca
    Posts
    1,087

    Re:Network Not Working In Debian

    What does the command 'route' show?
    Is it possible that the address is already assigned on the network?

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:Network Not Working In Debian

    First off, Intel's problem.

    Somewhere along the way, Intel decided to modified the chipset for the EtherExpress cards. So some will work with e100 modules and some will only work with eepro100 modules. So try that.

    My lsmod
    Code:
    eepro100               18996   1
    mii                     2256   0 [eepro100]
    Second, to eliminate it's really the NIC's problem, post the result of
    Code:
    ping 127.0.0.1
    And
    Code:
    ping 10.0.0.2
    If it still have host unreachable, then it's the problem with NIC setup rather than your network setup.

    Third, try using DNS nameserver entries other than your own gateway/router. I've seen many problems with this kind of setup including mine which is Netgear Wireless AP/router. It just refused to render DNS requests from my Linux or too slow to response to *nix's TCP/IP stack.

    My /etc/resolv.conf is
    Code:
    nameserver 204.127.198.4
    nameserver 63.240.76.4
    nameserver 192.168.70.1
    My local gateway address is there just so that it is there plus I don't have search entries. I don't think you need to defind search entries unless you intend to use /etc/hosts as your local name resolution service.

    Other than that, it seems to be setup correctly. The only thing I can think of it is either you have the wrong module or you have half-ass NIC card (hey, I have some of those before. They won't work unless I put in IRQ and IO manually in Red Hat 6.0 days).

    P.S --> I like the way you ask questions with the commands you try and stuff. K++ for ya.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    51
    I posted alot more than that in LJR and I don't see my post here.. it seems that I have to repeat my self

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    51
    route
    Code:
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    localnet        *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
    default         10.0.0.138      0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    51
    These are some outputs I got from Knoppix 4.0 Live DVD which detects and configures the network correcly:

    Built-in Network Chipset
    Code:
    Intel(R) PRO/100 VE
    uname -a
    Code:
    Linux Knoppix 2.6.12 #2 SMP Tue Aug 9 23:20:52 CEST 2005 i686 GNU/Linux
    /etc/resolve.conf
    Code:
    search lan
    nameserver 10.0.0.138
    /etc/network/interfaces
    Code:
    # /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)
    
    # The loopback interface
    # automatically added when upgrading
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    ping -c 3 10.0.0.138
    Code:
    PING 10.0.0.138 (10.0.0.138): 56 data bytes
    64 bytes from 10.0.0.138: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=0.4 ms
    64 bytes from 10.0.0.138: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.4 ms
    64 bytes from 10.0.0.138: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.4 ms
    
    --- 10.0.0.138 ping statistics ---
    3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
    round-trip min/avg/max = 0.4/0.4/0.4 ms
    ifconfig
    Code:
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:00:E2:4E:AC:F1  
              inet addr:10.0.0.4  Bcast:10.0.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:11 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:7 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:1549 (1.5 KiB)  TX bytes:1772 (1.7 KiB)
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
              RX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:700 (700.0 b)  TX bytes:700 (700.0 b)
    lspci
    Code:
    0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corp. 82815 815 Chipset Host Bridge and Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
    0000:00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corp. 82815 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller] (rev 02)
    0000:00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corp. 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corp. 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corp. 82801BA IDE U100 (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM USB (Hub #1) (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM SMBus (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.4 USB Controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM USB (Hub #2) (rev 02)
    0000:00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM AC'97 Audio (rev 02)
    0000:01:00.0 Multimedia audio controller: Avance Logic Inc. ALS4000 Audio Chipset
    0000:01:01.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro] (rev 15)
    0000:01:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corp. 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller (rev 01)
    lsmod | grep e100
    Code:
    e100                   37248  0 
    mii                     8320  1 e100
    dmesg | grep eth
    Code:
    e100: eth0: e100_probe: addr 0x80120000, irq 10, MAC addr 00:00:E2:4E:AC:F1
    e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    dmesg | grep e100
    Code:
    e100: Intel(R) PRO/100 Network Driver, 3.4.8-k2-NAPI
    e100: Copyright(c) 1999-2005 Intel Corporation
    e100: eth0: e100_probe: addr 0x80120000, irq 10, MAC addr 00:00:E2:4E:AC:F1
    e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    e100: eth0: e100_watchdog: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex
    /etc/network/options
    Code:
    ip_forward=no
    spoofprotect=yes
    syncookies=no
    route
    Code:
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
    10.0.0.0        *               255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 eth0
    default         SpeedTouch.lan  0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 eth0

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    51
    I noticed IP is different in Knoppix. In Debian and Windows it is 10.0.0.2 and it is working in Windows. I will change it in Debian to 10.0.0.4 to match Knoppix but I don't expect it to solve the problem.

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Bahrain
    Posts
    51
    First: I posted a reply to your post in LJR but it seems it didn't make it here, so this may seems like a repeat but..
    So some will work with e100 modules and some will only work with eepro100 modules.
    Knoppix 4.0 is using e100 driver for the same intel chip in the same computer and it works, it has newer kernel with an updated e100 driver version though
    Second, to eliminate it's really the NIC's problem, post the result of
    Code:
    ping 127.0.0.1
    And
    Code:
    ping 10.0.0.2
    If it still have host unreachable, then it's the problem with NIC setup rather than your network setup.
    Done as you see in the previous posts, and they work. strange!
    Third, try using DNS nameserver entries other than your own gateway/router. I've seen many problems with this kind of setup including mine which is Netgear Wireless AP/router. It just refused to render DNS requests from my Linux or too slow to response to *nix's TCP/IP stack.
    I don't see how it will reach a external DNS if it can't reach the router which is also my ADSL modem and my small home network/s gateway, but anyway.. I did change them to mach your's and they didn't work.
    I don't think you need to defind search entries unless you intend to use /etc/hosts as your local name resolution service.
    Will I do have my computer (Debian Etch), my wife's computer (Debian Etch, Network Not Working :-) ), my TV reciever (Linux based DreamBox) and a FileServer (SlackWare), and I am planning to add a Firewall (OpenBSD) and a Webserver (FreeBSD). So I think I will need to have names attached to them instead of calling them with IPs :-)

    The only thing I can think of it is either you have the wrong module or you have half-*** NIC card (hey, I have some of those before. They won't work unless I put in IRQ and IO manually in Red Hat 6.0 days).
    Well, the modem module seems OK (e100) as Knoppix is using it, if this is what you mean. The card itself, actually a builtin chipset, is working fine in both Windows and Knoppix 4.0 Live DVD, so this means it is OK too.
    Based on all the tests I did I think the IRQ is wrong, But I don't know how to change that yet.
    P.S --> I like the way you ask questions with the commands you try and stuff. K++ for ya.
    I tried to give as much information as possible to assist whoever wants to help me, plus it help me find the problem, I hope. And it shows others that I did try to help and not just asking people to do everything for me :-)
    And Thank you for the Karma, although it is not here anymore. I lost all mine which showed that I am a nice person :-(
    Last edited by knight; 02-04-2006 at 08:42 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. network card stop working
    By nikgau in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2012, 06:00 AM
  2. Working the details of my SOHO Network
    By Dark Horse in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2007, 04:02 AM
  3. Installing Debian thru windows network
    By trommaster in forum Ubuntu / Debian
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-03-2002, 05:50 AM
  4. Migration to Debian is not working :(
    By Feztaa in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 50
    Last Post: 11-29-2001, 04:23 PM
  5. Installing Debian via network
    By CP in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-24-2001, 05:06 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •