Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

First time linux user
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: First time linux user

Associate

First time linux user

Hi,

I'm a cs major so I decided to dual boot win/linux. I have some very basic background knowledge of linux.

I successfully installed SUSE 10.0 and am trying to get the sound/vid card/wireless to work and other hardware aspects as they come up. I've been googling for some help and the answers include compiling kernels and frankly I don't know how to do that. The vid card supports 1280x800 on win but only goes to 1200x800 on suse. The sound stutters and doesn't work and I don't know how to approach getting my wireless internet working. Can someone please help (you might have to hold my hand on this)? It would be much appreciated.

Advisor

Re:First time linux user

First of:
    What soundcard, and what modules are loadet, and are you using alsa, and what permission is on /dev/dsp and /dev/audio ?

What type vid card, and what settings are you using (refresh rate/pixel depth/etc) ?

What type WIFI card do you have ?
    http://madwifi.org/wiki/Compatibility for madwifi cards, see if yours is listed there.
    As for prism54 based cards (http://prism54.org/fullmac.html), at this stage it is quite a mess which are supported, and if theres beeing worked on support for those, but a stock kernel should have buildin support for atleast the fullMAC types.

If it is a madwifi supported one, then you might need to fetch the latest madwifi-ng and build it, but once we know what type it is, we'll take it from there.