Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 43

Thread: Problem with network card

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Problem with network card

    Hi,

    Newbie, first time using Linux - Mandrake limited edition 2005, after installing the OS. I am having problems getting connection onto the internet. I am able to ping the IP address, and nothing else. None of the browser works. Please help.....

  2. #2

    Re:Problem with network card

    Hi,

    Try adding your ISP DNS servers' ip addresses to your /etc/resolve.conf file.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re:Problem with network card

    Hi,

    Thanks for the reply, but not sure how? Do I bring up the terminal and logged in as "su". What should I be doing?.

    Sorry, I finally made up my mind to try linux, Windows just aint working out for me.

    [quote author=trickster link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96011 date=1126970407]
    Hi,

    Try adding your ISP DNS servers' ip addresses to your /etc/resolve.conf file.
    [/quote]

  4. #4

    Re:Problem with network card

    Open a terminal and run something like

    Code:
    su -c "gedit /etc/resolve.conf"
    That should open the file on a gui editor.

  5. #5
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Problem with network card

    If the post by my esteemed colleague Trickster made little sense, he took another way of saying:

    Log in as root (the administrative account)
    Open up /etc/resolv.conf in an editor
    Make the needed change there.

    You can find your DNS servers on their website, or you can call them up and simply ask. Linux supports up to 3 DNS servers.

  6. #6

    Re:Problem with network card

    ^
    |
    |
    |

    What he said!

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Advisor
    redhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    811

    Re:Problem with network card

    Remember your /etc/resolv.conf should be formed like:
    domain ISP.domain.com
    nameserver 130.225.96.100
    nameserver 130.225.96.101
    nameserver 130.225.96.102
    nameserver 130.225.96.103

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re:Problem with network card

    Hi Schotty,

    After I done that, The system keeps hanging, what does that mean? Now I am unable to do anything.

    This is a brand new OS, which I found on a mirror site, Its the Mandrake Limited Edition 2005.Everything on the hardware is put together, but I suspect that the HDD has something to do with it.

    I downloaded and install it. Everything was fine till I could not surf the net. So I found this web site and posted my problem.

    This is my process so far. I have not done anything else. Have not even got the chance to try the system yet.

    Thanks for helping guys ;D


    [quote author=Schotty link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96014 date=1126974579]
    If the post by my esteemed colleague Trickster made little sense, he took another way of saying:

    Log in as root (the administrative account)
    Open up /etc/resolv.conf in an editor
    Make the needed change there.

    You can find your DNS servers on their website, or you can call them up and simply ask. Linux supports up to 3 DNS servers.
    [/quote]

  9. #9

    Re:Problem with network card

    hello,
    are there entries in the file /etc/resolv.conf like redhead posted? also - do you get your IP addresses via dhcp or is it static?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    53

    Re:Problem with network card

    Hi,

    Yes there is something on the /etc/resolv.conf file

    It reads name server 202.156.230.23

    and below that is # ppp network

    I went into root and try to change it, after that everything hang. I have to stop and put it aside for awhile till I can find someone who can help me figure this one out.

    Cheers ???
    [quote author=pbharris link=board=2;threadid=10694;start=0#msg96040 date=1127018435]
    hello,
    are there entries in the file /etc/resolv.conf like redhead posted? also - do you get your IP addresses via dhcp or is it static?
    [/quote]

Similar Threads

  1. Dual Network Card in RH7.3
    By dkny01 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-2003, 05:28 PM
  2. Network Card Problems
    By OrangeSlushy in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2003, 05:06 PM
  3. Ack network card %&@$ up crap
    By cindir in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-08-2002, 11:29 PM
  4. Add a network card
    By benny666 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-21-2002, 02:49 AM
  5. configuring second network card
    By chadm1967 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-21-2001, 03:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •