Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Join XP Pro client to NT domain

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    96

    Join XP Pro client to NT domain

    Hi, wonder if anyone can help me with this?

    I'm trying to join an XP Pro client to an NT domain, and it just won't go. Whenever I try joining the domain I get "The domain is unavailable or cannot be contacted". Things I've tried so far:

    Disable XP firewall.
    Enable netbios over tcp/ip.
    Install WINS service on server and add server's ip in WINS settings on client.
    Enable lmhosts lookup and import lmhosts file.

    I can ping each machine by name from the other, and can map network drives. The client is picking up an IP address via DHCP from the server. I still cannot get it onto the domain though.

    Any suggestions, as this is driving me up the wall!

    TIA, Chris

  2. #2

    Re:Join XP Pro client to NT domain

    I've seen this issue when the machine cannot resolve the WINS address.
    Can you see the other computers on the domain, on the WINS database?

  3. #3

    Re:Join XP Pro client to NT domain

    I know that NT boxes can't join 2003 domains, do you think this somewhat relates to an XP box joining a NT domain?

  4. #4

    Re:Join XP Pro client to NT domain

    2003 domain is AD (Active Directory) vs an NT domain, which is supposed to be nt 4.0 domain controllers.


  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    96

    Re:Join XP Pro client to NT domain

    The background to this is that I'm due to go over to Egypt to set up a new office, and because of their customs we can't take equipment over there, it has to be bought new.

    The server *has* to be NT for reasons not worth going into (stupid management), but the new pc's are not compatible with NT4 workstation.

    I've got two identical machines here for testing, set up as server (NT, for some reason NT Server will work) and client (XP). As there are only two machines on the domain no others are visible.

    Googling has not turned up anything beyond what I've already tried. ???

    The exect message is "The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted."

  6. #6

    Re:Join XP Pro client to NT domain

    Have you searched the Microsoft Support Site?

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    96

    Re:Join XP Pro client to NT domain

    Yes, however the suggestions listed didn't help.

    Have solved it now though. I'd forgotten to put the server's IP address into the WINS settings on the server. Once that was done it worked fine.

    Thought it was probably something simple I'd missed. :

Similar Threads

  1. forwarding non-existent user to remote hosted domain of same domain name?
    By pushpraj nimbalkar in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-18-2006, 09:50 PM
  2. LINUX CLIENT AUTHORIZATION ON WINDOWS DOMAIN
    By raza in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2005, 08:56 AM
  3. Domain Name Hosting retrieval of domain?
    By Rastar in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-16-2003, 03:46 PM
  4. Join the cause
    By gmoreno in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-31-2002, 12:53 AM
  5. Recruitment - would you join?
    By phpgeek in forum General Chat
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 02-24-2002, 01:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •