Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

DVD Drive

Thread: DVD Drive

Hybrid View

DVD Drive

The same dvd drive(BenQ) that I mention in another thread that works with Debian, is having a problem with Windows XP Pro.

It seems if I put a store bought dvd movie or a burned cd disc, it will play it, but when I put a blank(sony) dvd disc in the drive, it doesn't seem to recognize it.

When I view the drive in the file manager with a blank disc, it looks as if it's a cd drive, but when no disc is in it, it looks as a dvd drive.

I have a cd r/w drive as the master & the dvd r/w drive is the slave setup.

Any ideas/suggestions?

Thnx.

Good Guru

Re:DVD Drive

Have you cleaned the registry and checked the controller/cd drivers for corruption? Check for viral presence too.

No, this is the first time using the drive with XP, and it works fine using Linux.

I may need to check for virus but don't think I have any.

Windows is so weird...

Check the manufacturer's site for newer firmware.

I did and when I got ready to install it, it said something about the software is older then the drive, which I thought was odd...maybe I had the wrong firmware software.

What if I reinstall Nero software?

Thnx.

Good Guru

Well, depending on how they are doing shit these days, Nero may be pulling a maneuver that Adaptec did years agao when they owned EZ-CD-Cdreator Pro. They replaced all of the IDE CDROM drivers with their SCSI-ATAPI ones. That caused alot of grief for those with NERO, CDRWin, and NTI.