Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

New to linux, cannot connect to internet
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to linux, cannot connect to internet

New to linux, cannot connect to internet

HI all,
    I am completely new to Linux. I recently installed Fedora core 3 in my HP pavilion. But I cannot connect to internet. I have High speed internet(cable).
    I tried to configure the network setting by Main menu> system tools> internet configuration wizard.
    But in configuration network setting window
    “Automatically obtain IP address setting with DHCP” option is disabled. What I have to do now?
    How can I test or make sure internet is working? Please help..

Thanks Roy

Re:New to linux, cannot connect to internet

hi roy,
    the 1st thing to do is make sure your NIC Network Inteface card) is up and running. Find the Hardware Browser under the system menu (I think...) and see if you NIC is listed and hopefully its status.

Another option is to open a terminal (right click on desktop, choose open terminal) and type /sbin/ifconfig

please let us know how that turns out.

Hi
    Thanks a lot for your quick reply.

This is the result of /sbin/ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:E0:18:7B:9F:67
    inet addr:67.184.92.254 Bcast:67.255.255.255 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:18ff:fe7b:9f67/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:21 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:1951 (1.9 KiB)