Thread: XP/FC3 dual boot trouble

XP/FC3 dual boot trouble

I am running a windoze XP Pro machine on an 80GB HD and I installed FC3 on a second 40GB HD.

Here is the problem, I have been sifting through all of the different forums and have not found a good detailed instruction on how to fix my problem. By detailed I mean a set of instructions at each phase of the fix. Like "once you get to the shell type "Yada, yada, yada" and then do this by typing "whatever" then to close it out type this "More whatever" I apologize for any inconvenience but I am brand new to Linux and would like very much to learn how to just get it to play nicely with XP :

O.K., done whining now! ;D Here is the problem:

I installed FC3 on the second drive but I made the default start-up OS the XP one.

I did tell the set-up to use GRUB as the boot loader. Now when I start my machine it boots directly into windows without so much as a how-do-you-do from GRUB.
    So I can't do anything with the Linux stuff because I don't know what commands to use to do it. As I said before, not enough of a detailed account of what I need to do. I have tried a few things but I always end up in the same place.

I also heard that if I do get to the point where I can load GRUB somewhere like on the first drive that has the windows loader That this will mess up the boot section on the Windows disk. Is this true??

Thanks a bunch in advance!!

Good Guru

Re:XP/FC3 dual boot trouble

Set the default boot device as that drive in your BIOS. That should do the trick. For some reason, I believe, that your bootloader got installed on the wrong drive.

Seconded. Try telling your boot device to boot from Primary IDE Master, Primary Slave, Secondary Master, or Secondary Slave. One of those should solve your problem.