Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: nvidia dilema

  1. #1

    nvidia dilema

    OK I got an nvidia gforce built in to my mobo. I last had it working with Slack I believe. Now I got FC 3 installed now. But I've been distro to distro and can't get an install to work with the official driver. The "nv" driver works but has lots of issues. Mostly it freezes up very frequently. I just burned Santa Fe Linux and that didnt work either. It has nvidia official drivers running by default. Thats why I gave that a try.

    Anyways, nvidia drivers in any distro makes my box freeze when x starts up. No hardware changes to my box. Module loads fine.

    ???

    Thanks!

  2. #2

    Re:nvidia dilema

    is framebuffer enabled in the kernel ? When I turned that off the number of lock ups that i had went down - way down.

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:nvidia dilema

    after installing fc3, what did you do to ready the system for the closed source, nVIDIA issued drivers?

    First off, as Paul stated -- dont do frame buffer
    Second you need to run this : cp -a /dev/nvidia* /etc/udev/devices/
    Then kill dri in the xorg.conf file

    That is all I needed to do.

  4. #4

    Re:nvidia dilema

    I've done all of that still no luck. Well for now I will disable fb for "nv" but no gaming for gmoreno till i get to the root of this.

  5. #5

    Re:nvidia dilema

    Well in a bit of desperation I installed Suse. Since I thought I had got it to work with it. It looks like it works. Just need to get glx stuff since I got some glx error when I tried to run glxgears. Not sure why its working with suse and not other distros. I guess I'll have to stick with gnome 2.4 or broken gnome.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:nvidia dilema

    Have you installed any of the nforce drivers?

  7. #7

    Re:nvidia dilema

    Didn't have to. SuSE supported my ethernet port and my sound.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:nvidia dilema

    I mean on redhat or santa fe.

  9. #9

    Re:nvidia dilema

    I didn't install nforce drivers in FC3. SantaFe never boot up for me.

  10. #10

    Re:nvidia dilema

    I run Slackware with the Nvidia 6629 graphics drivers and built-in kernel support for other chipset support and it works fine.

    http://www.nvidia.com/object/linux.html - here are the drivers I use, version 6629.

    Did you make sure that the xorg.conf Device section has the right driver "nvidia" and that the kernel module "nvidia" is loaded? - check it with lsmod, you should see it running as a module.

    Do you have the right modelines set up for your card/monitor in xorg.conf?

    What BIOS features do you have set? maybe try disabling fastwrites, and make sure video bios shadowing is disabled.

    also, check the permissions in /dev/ on any nvid* devices, make sure they aren't too restrictive.

Similar Threads

  1. NVIDIA TV-Out
    By peter in forum Tutorials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-24-2008, 05:51 AM
  2. nVIDIA or ATI?
    By Marik in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 01-27-2005, 10:02 PM
  3. Nvidia And Sorry
    By torch in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-12-2002, 10:39 PM
  4. Dilema
    By in forum General Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-05-2002, 12:10 PM
  5. Nvidia
    By jman_77 in forum Mandriva
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-22-2001, 03:35 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •