Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: fdisk/format

fdisk/format

hello, I'm new at the linux end of knowledge. I am working with a 60 gig HD, so space shouldn't be an issue. The operating system is Redhat linux professional. 7.2. Recommended space for a full install is: 4.5 gig on the HD and 96 MB of memory. My ram is 256. Below is the result of loading the OS.

/dev/hda
    /dev/hda1- 1 6 47 ext3 /boot Yes
    /dev/hda2- 7 5367 42061 ext3 /user Yes
    /dev/hda3- 5369 7329 15383 ext3 /home Yes
    /dev/hda4- 7330 7476 1153 Extended
    /dev/hda5- 7330 7378 384 / Yes
    /dev/hda6- 7379 7411 259 /var Yes
    /dev/hda7- 7412 7476 510 swap
    This is why I believe I have a problem. When I start to load OfficeStar 5.2, (the full option) I recieve an error regarding not enough space. The full package is 265.1 MB.
    The directory it wants to put OfficeStar on is: /root/officestar52.

So with this problem I desided to wipe the HD clean and start a fresh OS load. The HD originally had Redhat 7.2 loaded on it. Just for practice I wanted to fdisk and format this and start again. Using a DOS version fidisk, I removed all linux partitions *execept* the extended linux partition. I keep getting looped when trying to remove this partition. I have a feeling that fdisk sees this as a logical partition in the extended memory. I attempt to remove the logical partition and "no logical partitions defined" , then I try to remove the extended and I get " can't remove extended partition while logical partition exists." My second attempt was trying a copy of fdisk(linux). However, when I try this I get a warning that " can't remove partition in standard mode".
    So with a extended partition on the HD and nothing else, I desided to load the OS again, and then veiw fdisk. Just to see if 2 extended partitions where now there. This didn't happen. I recieved a couple of warnings when loading but in the end the exact partition scheme was loaded again.