Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: nic problems w/ Woody

  1. #1

    nic problems w/ Woody

    Ok I got eth0 up and I got an ip address from my cable modem. But my addresses don't get resolved. I get host not found when I ping google.com. I've never known what my dns is. I get it automaticaly through dhcp.

    Running new install on my server Debian Woody.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Advisor Outlaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Clifton Park, NY
    Posts
    630

    Re:nic problems w/ Woody

    Not sure proper DHCP client config, but If you have access to XP or 2K, you can do a ipconfig /all and enter them manually to resolv.conf - or use a knoppix cd.

  3. #3

    Re:nic problems w/ Woody

    [quote author=Radar link=board=1;threadid=10079;start=0#msg91309 date=1103492545]
    Not sure proper DHCP client config, but If you have access to XP or 2K, you can do a ipconfig /all and enter them manually to resolv.conf - or use a knoppix cd.
    [/quote]

    I would go with the knoppix idea.
    Also, does:

    dhcpcd eth0

    return any errors ?

  4. #4

    Re:nic problems w/ Woody

    ok I entered my dns ips into /etc/resolve.conf. I don't have dhcpd but I have dhcp_client or something of that sort. I am able to ping google's ip address but not ping google.com. Still having same prob. ANy ideas.

  5. #5

    Re:nic problems w/ Woody

    What does `dig www.google.com` output?

  6. #6

    Re:nic problems w/ Woody

    I got it figured out I think. Re-installed woody. Recompiled 2.4.28(not 2.6.9). Added card to /etc/network/interfaces. Ran dhcp-client. Was able to ping google.com successfully. Now need to finish seting up so that it will get it's ip right away on boot. But I'm sure I'll get that figured out when I get home from work. Thanks. 2.6.9+Woody+nforce nic. Don't mix to smothly.

  7. #7
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:nic problems w/ Woody

    Well the 2.6 kernel has had no issues with my nforce2 setup. 2.4 needed a few drivers from nvidia, but the 2.6 tree has oss ones there.

Similar Threads

  1. Working Woody ISO
    By ASCI_Blue in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-06-2002, 07:22 AM
  2. Woody went limp :(
    By ASCI_Blue in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-20-2002, 11:49 AM
  3. How do you mix woody and sid?
    By in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-28-2002, 07:17 PM
  4. I'm screwed with my woody..
    By redhead in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-09-2002, 03:20 PM
  5. debian Woody
    By agar in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2001, 12:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •