Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Dialup with Newer Distros
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dialup with Newer Distros

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Dialup with Newer Distros

    How well does the newer distros that are out with dialup connection?

    I haven't been able to get my old 233mhz Thinkpad system to work with dialup since I've had it.

    I have two pcmcia cards, one is Zonet and the other is xircom dual nic & modem card.

    Thnx.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:Dialup with Newer Distros

    Check this out.

    Also, check out Linmodems page.

    AFAIK, Xircom cards are lin modems mostly.

  3. #3

    Re:Dialup with Newer Distros

    Thnx. for the reply...I will look it over and give it a try. My cable ISP was having problems lately and I haven't been online much. But, the good news is I got 3mb download speed since the problem occurred now.

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:Dialup with Newer Distros

    If you get higher upload, I will download mp3s from you. ;D

  5. #5

    Re:Dialup with Newer Distros

    [quote author=Compunuts link=board=4;threadid=9840;start=0#msg89442 date=1097390079]
    If you get higher upload, I will download mp3s from you. ;D
    [/quote]
    I think it's 768kb upload but I will have to check it out.

    It's Charter Communication in St. Louis and Paul Allen is a majority owner.

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:Dialup with Newer Distros

    He cut some cables so that he can help pay the 10 Million price won by Xship project. :P

  7. #7

    Re:Dialup with Newer Distros

    [quote author=Compunuts link=board=4;threadid=9840;start=0#msg89484 date=1097506842]
    He cut some cables so that he can help pay the 10 Million price won by Xship project. :P
    [/quote]
    You right he cut cables, the upload speed is just 256k. >

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:Dialup with Newer Distros

    Yeah, I have the same upload speed. But I don't really mind since I don't have much traffic I need for the uploads. Running a few web sites, Mail and SSH traffic don't even need that kind of upload anyway. It's better than some ISPs ( road runner is the one I know ) who blocks the hell out of ports and you can't even test run servers. Many businesses used to run all kinds of servers out of ISDN ( 144K ) lines so we are still better off with the price range although I would imagine true competition could have lower the prices than our monolopy state of communication systems.

  9. #9
    fine !!
    Its the great information !

Similar Threads

  1. Newer than New to Linux
    By Camillo in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 05-23-2006, 12:15 PM
  2. Upgraded to Newer Version
    By paradox in forum Announcements and Suggestions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-19-2004, 05:40 PM
  3. Dialup for Redhat
    By GhostDawg in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-01-2004, 05:19 AM
  4. sound and newer video games on rh7.3
    By 10Dedfish in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-23-2003, 08:23 PM
  5. apache + lan + dialup
    By Stuart in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-06-2003, 09:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •