Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

SMTP Auth?

Thread: SMTP Auth?

SMTP Auth?

Hey all

So I have very little experience in the world of setting up an SMTP server, but I've made some headway. In the process of exhausting google, I've managed to get my SMTP server to a state where I can send email from any machine connected to my network (ie, within the 192.168.1.* domain). That's fantastic, as it means my laptop can now connect to my server to send email. However, I've been trying to take the next step and have been seeing some trouble.

This server config works great for when I'm kicking around the house, but ideally I'd also like to use it from school. I'd like to be able to log on to the school's wireless network and send emails by connecting to my server at home. I already have a dns associated with my server and I can ssh and ftp into it so I'm able to target it without a problem. What I'd like to do is configure sendmail so that instead of looking at the IP you're coming from, it asks for a username and password. I know it has something to do with SASL, and I've checked to make sure that sendmail is configured to use SASL and that saslauthd is running.

Using FC2. Any help is appreciated.

sendmail.mc:

[REMOVED CAUSE I SWITCHED TO EASIER-TO-USE POSTFIX]

???

Re:SMTP Auth?