Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Changing Xorg Resolution

  1. #1

    Changing Xorg Resolution

    I am trying to get my resolution to be 1024x768 but the only two options i get are 640*480 && 800*600. Ctrl + Alt + (+ on Num. Key Pad) doesn't work. And here's the section about my Display, etc:
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    
        Identifier  "My Monitor"
    
    # HorizSync is in kHz unless units are specified.
    # HorizSync may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
    # comma separated list of ranges of values.
    # NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
    # USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.
    
        HorizSync   31.5 - 50.0
    
    #    HorizSync  30-64         # multisync
    #    HorizSync  31.5, 35.2    # multiple fixed sync frequencies
    #    HorizSync  15-25, 30-50  # multiple ranges of sync frequencies
    
    # VertRefresh is in Hz unless units are specified.
    # VertRefresh may be a comma separated list of discrete values, or a
    # comma separated list of ranges of values.
    # NOTE: THE VALUES HERE ARE EXAMPLES ONLY.  REFER TO YOUR MONITOR'S
    # USER MANUAL FOR THE CORRECT NUMBERS.
    
        VertRefresh 40-90
    
    EndSection
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Graphics device section
    # **********************************************************************
    
    # Any number of graphics device sections may be present
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier  "VESA Framebuffer"
        Driver      "vesa"
        #VideoRam    4096
        # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    EndSection
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Screen sections
    # **********************************************************************
    
    # Any number of screen sections may be present.  Each describes
    # the configuration of a single screen.  A single specific screen section
    # may be specified from the X server command line with the "-screen"
    # option.
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier  "Screen 1"
        Device      "VESA Framebuffer"
        Monitor     "My Monitor"
    
    # If your card can handle it, a higher default color depth (like 24 or 32)
    # is highly recommended.
    
    #   DefaultDepth 8
    #   DefaultDepth 16
       DefaultDepth 24
    #   DefaultDepth 32
    
    # "1024x768" is also a conservative usable default resolution.  If you
    # have a better monitor, feel free to try resolutions such as
    # "1152x864", "1280x1024", "1600x1200", and "1800x1400" (or whatever your
    # card/monitor can produce)
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       8
            Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       16
            Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
       Subsection "Display"
            Depth       32
            Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubsection
    
    EndSection
    Well, I hope that helps!

    Thanks! I searched on google and people had the same issue with Fedora Core 2's Xorg but I'm running Slackware 10.

  2. #2
    Guest

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    the main problem with FC3 test1 is that if it doesn't know your monitor it tends to set some odd default sync rates that disallow higher resolutions.

    So you need to look up the sync rates and input those as well.

    I would think if you get the correct rates and specs from your vendor the Xorg team would like some kind of bugreport containing that info so to make Xorg kick more ass.

  3. #3

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    Yeah. I found an online manual sort of thing for my Monitor and I trie d using the HorizSync and Vertical Sync Rates they gave and it had also been mentioned in the manual that max resolution is 1024x768 but it's not working.. I checked the back of my monitor and it had different Sync Rates.. And I'll try that in a moment and see if that makes any difference.

    Thanks again!
    Shebang

    [Edit]
    Well, I tried the Monitor's Suggestion but that still doesn't get me to 1024x768
    [/Edit]

    I'm wondering if the Video Card has anything to do with it ?

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chelsea, Oklahoma USA
    Posts
    6

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    You're running framebuffer with the vesa driver. You need to run xorgconfig and see if your video card is in the list and then configure it. You can also check for your monitor and configure it.

    Germ

  5. #5

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    [quote author=Germ link=board=6;threadid=9664;start=0#msg87968 date=1092517045]
    You're running framebuffer with the vesa driver. You need to run xorgconfig and see if your video card is in the list and then configure it. You can also check for your monitor and configure it.

    Germ
    [/quote]

    Vesa seems to be the only that works with my Card..


    Here is my card.. Google doesn't show much

    00:08.0 VGA compatible controller: Matrox Graphics, Inc. MGA 2064W [Millennium] (rev 01)


    Well, actually i found something in SuSE forums that I should try the mga driver... I'll do that when i get home..

    I'm only on SSH now.. :-/

  6. #6

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    @Germ - Welcome to the forums.

    @Shebang - Frame buffer has it's own driver (fbdev) so, vesa can work, or fbdev can work (Chances are you are using the vesa driver for the fbdev, but that's the kernel driver not the X driver). Try the mga or try setting fbdev as the driver. Or maybe it's because your HorizSync and VertRefresh are wrong.

  7. #7

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    Well, none of them worked. and if it did work, then the fonts are all messed up.. I could get into 1024x768 but all the fonts are not readable and messed up and if i load gnome or xfce with that resolution, 1/2 the screen is white. :-/

    I tried fbdev but it didn't even startx. I got the no screens found error. :-/

    here is the screenshot of blackbox in 1024x768 pixels:

    http://slack-er.mine.nu/foo.jpg

  8. #8

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    Heya
    Congrats on Slack10 choice...it r0x. If you read the beginning notes that patrick put in the xorg.conf samples you'll see that framebuffer is no longer necessary since it relies on VESA now, which is a good thing for most users since the fb modules often conflict with any accellerated drivers such as exist for nVidia and ATi ( I haven't checked to see if Matrox has yet produced real linux drivers ). So first if I were you I'd search for native drivers.

    Failing that you might download a "modeline generator" ( just google that term and you're in business ) and even though modelines are no longer necessary they do still work for speciftying rates. Just be certain your monitor can handle it seeing it appears your vidcard can likely deliver rates your monitor apparently cannot support - based on the specs you've listed so far.

    One major advantage to using Slackware with this kind of problem is that you can do the work from the default console login as opposed to so many distros that default to an X desktop which leaves you lost in the ozone if they fail for any reason. Just be aware you can destroy your monitor with a combination of resolution and refresh rate that is too high so be sure to get and read the proper manual for your exact module.

    Incidentally, why not try another keyboard if your numkey "+" key does not work presently? It surely is a valuable resource to be able to switch resolutions with a simple keystroke combo to exit one that doesn't work quickly. It could save yours from destruction and keyboards are way cheaper than monitors. Also CRT's are coming *way* down in price because of the successes of LCD flatscreens and a new monitor might be a great fix. I saw a Mag 19incher for sale at Circuit City for $129 for cryin' out loud... a 19!

    Anyway...good luck, hope this helps some.

    Jimmy

  9. #9

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    PS Forgot to mention that there are great "HowTo's" available for getting the best looking fonts, even so-called "newbie-ized" how-to manuals. One tip is to list your high resolution ( eg: 100dpi ) fonts first in "/etc/X11/xorg.conf" but there are other tweaks that help a great deal since font smoothness has recently been a major priority with both XFree86 and various window managers.
    Jimmy

  10. #10

    Re:Changing Xorg Resolution

    Hey enorbet,
    Thanks for the advice..but I'm sure that my monitor is capable of working at 1024x768 because FC2 can easily run at 1024x768 and i noticed that the xorg.conf in FC had a option called:

    Option "dpms"

    but when i add that option in my Slack or CRUX setup, it loads 1024x768 but the fonts are messed up, so are the graphics..

    I don't know what's wrong but i'll try installing FC2 again and then save the xorg.conf file and use that.. it was using the "mga" driver btw..

Similar Threads

  1. XOrg?
    By beezlebubsbum in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-22-2004, 05:45 PM
  2. Xorg?
    By snct in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-03-2004, 07:06 PM
  3. Changing screen resolution manually
    By Black666 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-11-2002, 07:36 PM
  4. Changing resolution in X
    By cloverm in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-10-2002, 11:34 AM
  5. Changing resolution and Sound troubles
    By BDV in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-20-2002, 09:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •