Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit arch?

  1. #1

    How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit arch?

    Hi!

    How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit arch?

  2. #2

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit?

    if what is 32 or 64 bit?

  3. #3

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit?

    [quote author=burntash link=board=1;threadid=9718;start=0#msg88275 date=1093408450]
    if what is 32 or 64 bit?
    [/quote]

    I'am sorry.

    I am referring to 32/64-bit Architecture..

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Compunuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,935

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit arch?

    Look at the package name. Otherwise, you will have to read souce code.

  5. #5

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit arch?

    [quote author=Compunuts link=board=1;threadid=9718;start=0#msg88281 date=1093417126]
    Look at the package name. Otherwise, you will have to read souce code.
    [/quote]

    What do u mean by package name? What cmd should I execute?

    Does # uname -a do the trick?

    Sorry for my ignorance, I haven't seen 64bit Linux installed. Not at this time. Any clue?

    Thanks.

  6. #6

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit?

    [quote author=infinite_root link=board=1;threadid=9718;start=0#msg88276 date=1093411985]
    [quote author=burntash link=board=1;threadid=9718;start=0#msg88275 date=1093408450]
    if what is 32 or 64 bit?
    [/quote]

    I'am sorry.

    I am referring to 32/64-bit Architecture..
    [/quote]
    You mean if your hardware if 64bit or if some specific software is 64BIt.?

  7. #7

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit?

    [quote author=trickster link=board=1;threadid=9718;start=0#msg88285 date=1093435905]
    You mean if your hardware if 64bit or if some specific software is 64BIt.?
    [/quote]

    If linux is running in 64bit. I'll appreciate answers on for both software and hardware.

    Thanks again.

  8. #8

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit arch?

    What's your CPU?

  9. #9

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit arch?

    [quote author=Countach44 link=board=1;threadid=9718;start=0#msg88326 date=1093488153]
    What's your CPU?
    [/quote]

    Well, I am not running the same on my machine. I'm just curious on how to do it. Are there any command in linux to display this kind of informations? Or are there any other way to accomplish this? In case I had a requirement?

    I'm really sorry. I didn't mean it would go long way to answer this.

    TIA

  10. #10

    Re:How can you tell if it is 32 or 64bit arch?

    Well, this is what I think. If you have a 64bit cpu and a 64bit OS then most of the OS software should be 64bit. Now some of the other software may not be 64bit compatible until they start coding/compiling it to be 64bit.

    I hope this make sense. : As far as what command to use to verify if something is 64bit, I have no idea.


Similar Threads

  1. Oracle 10G 64bit cannot start after reboot
    By dadabear in forum Redhat / Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-28-2007, 11:51 AM
  2. 64bit Java Plugin?
    By in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2006, 12:41 AM
  3. 64bit Linux...
    By beezlebubsbum in forum General Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-01-2005, 11:16 PM
  4. Arch Linux
    By stryder144 in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 09-30-2002, 04:45 AM
  5. Question on Mac Arch
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-01-2002, 01:05 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •