Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 35

Thread: Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

  1. #1
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    How in bloody carnations could Red Hat have a less superior GNOME? Well Dropline is by far the best GNOME 2.6 I have seen yet (FC2, MDK 10, SuSE 9.1, Slackware stock).

    Thumbs up bigtime here !

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    Downloading it right now!

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    Yes, another GNOME convert !

    MWHAHAHA!!

  4. #4
    Guest

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    [quote author=Schotty link=board=6;threadid=9590;start=0#msg87230 date=1090983303]
    How in bloody carnations could Red Hat have a less superior GNOME? Well Dropline is by far the best GNOME 2.6 I have seen yet (FC2, MDK 10, SuSE 9.1, Slackware stock).
    [/quote]

    just for the record, Suse 9.1 has Gnome 2.4 with some Ximian patches, but not 2.6

    edit: and MDK 10 also has Gnome 2.4 instead of 2.6

    but oh well, except for the spatial nautilus and the new file selection dialog there aren't any really noticable changes between 2.4 and 2.6 anyway... except that it got even slower

  5. #5

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    I was a kde guy until I got dropline.


  6. #6

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    [quote author=Ralinx link=board=6;threadid=9590;start=0#msg87249 date=1090998420]
    except that it got even slower
    [/quote]

    By slower can I assume you meant faster? Yeah I'm gonna assume you meant faster It's MUCH more snappy for me than 2.4 was! Could be that nautilus and epiphany have had work done on them (two main offenders)

  7. #7
    Guest

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    [quote author=Tyr_7BE link=board=6;threadid=9590;start=0#msg87258 date=1091016243]
    By slower can I assume you meant faster? Yeah I'm gonna assume you meant faster It's MUCH more snappy for me than 2.4 was! Could be that nautilus and epiphany have had work done on them (two main offenders)
    [/quote]

    nautilus was faster but much more annoying... i didn't notice any difference for epiphany. but when it comes to the general impression of speed throughout the desktop, it was much worse

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    [quote author=stryder144 link=board=6;threadid=9590;start=0#msg87239 date=1090987004]
    Downloading it right now!
    [/quote]

    That is weird! I used the dropline-installer to download and install Dropline...unfortunately, there was an error some place (it wouldn't let me see what the error was). Well, none of my programs would load after I exited from the installer. No problem, I just rebooted. Big problem...now I can't log on! Neither the root nor the one user account can log in. This is bizarre!

    Time to reinstall Slackware.

    Cheers

  9. #9

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    [quote author=stryder144 link=board=6;threadid=9590;start=0#msg87268 date=1091026830]
    [quote author=stryder144 link=board=6;threadid=9590;start=0#msg87239 date=1090987004]
    Downloading it right now!
    [/quote]

    That is weird! I used the dropline-installer to download and install Dropline...unfortunately, there was an error some place (it wouldn't let me see what the error was). Well, none of my programs would load after I exited from the installer. No problem, I just rebooted. Big problem...now I can't log on! Neither the root nor the one user account can log in. This is bizarre!

    Time to reinstall Slackware.

    Cheers
    [/quote]
    You might have to run
    Code:
    dropline-installer --force
    Reinstalling seems kind of harsh! Can't you go in single user mode?

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Kind Mastermind
    stryder144's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    2,925

    Re:Dropline GNOME !! WOW !!

    I could go single-user mode, but I need to change some partition configurations. I kind of installed it on my second hdd without much thought to how I wanted to structure the hdd. This will give me an opportunity to do so. Plus, I'm on vacation, so this is what I am doing to entertain myself .

    Cheers

Similar Threads

  1. Dropline GNOME not maintained anymore
    By shebang in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-25-2004, 02:18 PM
  2. Dropline GNOME 2.8 ISO Released
    By shebang in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 10-13-2004, 01:14 AM
  3. MOVED: Dropline GNOME 2.8 ISO Released
    By trickster in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2004, 11:21 AM
  4. Dropline Gnome & Mozilla
    By GhostDawg in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-30-2004, 06:24 AM
  5. Slackware 9.1 and Dropline Gnome 2.6.0
    By in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-23-2004, 12:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •