Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Raid 1

  1. #1
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Raid 1

    For the last 2 days I've been trying to set up a software raid 1 (mirroring) on a RH 9 system without any success. I can create the raid device (/dev/md0) booting from a CD, but for the life of me I can't get the system to successfully boot from the mirrored drives. I'm just wondering if anyone has been able to do this. I've read all the howtos on this I could find.



  2. #2

    Re:Raid 1

    Just as a question, mostlly becauses ive been cursing Raid servers the last few days, but are you sure the the raid is actually being mounted during the startup?

  3. #3
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Raid 1

    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...ware-raid.html

    If I recall correctly, I remember hearing a few conversations regarding raid at the 2600, and for BSD and Linux, you need a non raid boot partition to boot up correctly. I could be wrong. But here is the docs over at RedHat.

  4. #4
    Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    1,672

    Re:Raid 1

    [quote author=Schotty link=board=1;threadid=9554;start=#msg87021 date=1090598441]
    http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...ware-raid.html

    If I recall correctly, I remember hearing a few conversations regarding raid at the 2600, and for BSD and Linux, you need a non raid boot partition to boot up correctly. I could be wrong. But here is the docs over at RedHat.
    [/quote]

    Actually I was trying to convert an existing RH9 system to RAID1. I finally gave up and reinstalled RH9 as the above document. Now I have it up and running. I still need to be able to convert an existing installation, since I have other boxes, but I won't be able to reinstall those since they are in production.

  5. #5
    Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    1,473

    Re:Raid 1

    cloverm i found this RAID 1 i didnt read thru the whole thing but it seems like it might help.

    I didnt think you could "convert" to RAID 1 i always thought you had to start fresh with it.

Similar Threads

  1. Raid
    By markwaugh in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-27-2004, 12:38 AM
  2. RAID 1 in RH9
    By pyfsapple in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-03-2003, 06:27 PM
  3. RAID rocks... Floppy RAID rocks more?
    By in forum General Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-07-2003, 07:42 PM
  4. suport for RAID ATA 100
    By bYTeGr4v3 in forum Linux Distros
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-18-2003, 04:15 PM
  5. IDE-RAID
    By BaerRS in forum Suse
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-23-2001, 12:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •