Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2962
How About this?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: How About this?

  1. #1
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735

    How About this?

    I just managed to get Debian 3.0r2 running on a very old computer, and it uses a GUI!

    Here are the system specs:

    Pentium 66mhz
    40mb EDO Ram
    4.ogb Hard Drive
    1mb S3 Trio 64 SVGA
    ESS Audio (ISA)
    4x Cdrom

    I have managed to get it running using IceWM, as KDE 3.2 would absolutely kill it! Have you guys got Linux running on anything slower?
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    190
    I have had Debian (3.0r1 - unstable) running on a P100, 32MB RAM, 1.2GB HD and Fluxbox. Wasn't the fastest and most smooth ride but it worked.

    That's the slowest machine that I have ever tried (and would want to try!!)

    Jamie

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Eugene, Oregon
    Posts
    207
    I run a PI 200Mhz w/ 128MB of PC100 RAM as my firewall / file server / print server. It works like a charm and had a 6-month uptime until a power outage killed it.

    There's no GUI running on it, though...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Atlanta GA
    Posts
    373
    Wow, the slowest machine I ever even bothered with is my Celeron 466Mhz 256MB 80GB router/ftp/firewall/webmin/whatever server


    It also donates some CPU cycles to my other machines when compiling (I use distcc with Gentoo )

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    59
    I run a P133 as my fileserver, with 32MB ram. It doesn't do much other than serve files and serve the occaisional web page. It also plays music, by running xmms and piping the X11 connection up to my workstation for controlling the playlist.

    Not that it really needs to be as fast as its full 133MHz. If I could find the manual for the motherboard, I'd chop half that clock rate off. I'd rather not start setting jumpers randomly and seeing what happens

  6. #6
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    Well, I did it again. I got Fedora Core running, and using Gnome 2.6 on the following system:

    Pentium Pro 75mhz
    48mb EDO Ram
    4.3gb Hard Drive.
    CMI7387 sound
    1mb Hercules SVGA
    4x cdrom

    Yeah, I got this running, and it is not fun! To install 2gb of data off the Fedora CDROM, it took 3hrs and 48mns! I have to wait five minutes for it to boot into the GUI! I have switched from GNOME 2.6 to TWM, and it cuts the boot to about two minutes.

    My main rig has died, and I am forced to use this computer until I get a new one (about three weeks!)
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lapeer, MI, USA
    Posts
    68
    I just installed Mepis, a Debian live-cd clone, on an old toshiba notebook with a pentium 133. I've got a full KDE running, just slowly...
    I've had good luck with feather linux on old hardware. They use a really lightweight gui, and the whole thing is less than 100MB. Chances are that's where this laptop will end up.

  8. #8
    Advisor beezlebubsbum's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    Yucky, I can't wait to get a faster computer... Then, I will be able to run Linux like it should be!
    My Website: http://ttgale.com
    My Website Uptime: http://img.uptimeprj.com/holastickbo...dee9bae2e2.png
    My Server Specs: AMD Athlon X2 3800+, 2gb DDR2 RAM, 1.5TB HDD, Ubuntu 9.10
    My Gaming PC: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.93ghz, 4gb DDR2 RAM, 9800GTX+

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Lapeer, MI, USA
    Posts
    68
    No, beez!
    You Are running Linux as it was intended. When's the last time you read about someone running a "minimal" Windoze install on older hardware? The really great thing about Linux is that it doesn't require any particular hardware to run. In fact, the only thing stopping someone from running a live-cd distro on an old box is the quantity of ram available to uncompress the loop into. Go ahead and toss a WinXP disk into an old box, and see if that's the only thing stopping you from installing, lol. I say, score another point for linux, where you can run the latest core on hardware a Windoze user would have dumped on the scrap heap.
    Woof!

  10. #10
    Advisor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    orlando
    Posts
    608
    i set up a streaming media server with an aes-256 encrypted drive on a k6-2 150MHz....

    no gui, but i was quite impressed that it was able to unencrypt/stream mp3's on the fly.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •