Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Yet another Verizon DSL issue.

  1. #1
    iceolate
    Guest

    Yet another Verizon DSL issue.

    *Sigh* I went to post a huge message and Netscape crashed.
    Before anyone asks, I read the replies to the other thread, that's
    where I got my info from. Here's what I did:

    First, I ran the internet config. wizard and redhat-config-network, which worked when I had dsl from earthlink. I got my dns server info and entered that into /etc/resolv.conf. I rebooted and got my gateway, which i put into
    ifcfg-eth0. did service network restart, then got these two errors:

    fgrep: ifcfg: no such file or directory

    and

    Bringing up interface ppp0 : ./ifup configuration for pp0 not found.

    that last one is paraphrased because i didn't have enough time to write it down. After that, I did ifup ppp0, and got this: /sbin/ifup: config ppp0 not found (shorthand notes). I looked at the ifup file with cat, but it's a long script and greek to me right now.

    after that, i activated the Verizon connection in Network device control,
    but it didn't do anything in mozilla. I reset the modem, ran ifconfig and
    everything seemed to be right, so i did ifup ppp0 and got the /sbin/ifup
    message again.

    So i did a quick init 6, and here I am.

    hopefully this message won't crash netscape again.

  2. #2

    Re:Yet another Verizon DSL issue.

    I'm not an expert on DSL nor Red Hat, but wouldn't you want to raise ifup eth0?
    AMD Athlon 2200+ 1.8Ghz
    1280MB PC-3200 CAS2.5 RAM
    ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB AGP
    Western Digital WDC WD2500JB-00FUA0 250GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Seagate ST3200822A 200GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Western Digital WDC WD1200BB-00CAA1 120GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Western Digital WDC WD800BB-00CAA1 80GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Maxtor OneTouch 2HA43R32 1TB 7200 rpm USB 2.0
    D-Link DFE-530TX+ 10/100 NIC
    D-Link DWL-G520 Rev.A
    Debian 5.0r1 Lenny

  3. #3
    iceolate
    Guest

    Re:Yet another Verizon DSL issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by SkyNet
    I'm not an expert on DSL nor Red Hat, but wouldn't you want to raise ifup eth0?
    Well yeah, I did that but it was already up anyway..

  4. #4

    Re:Yet another Verizon DSL issue.

    This is how mine works. Once the computer is started it brings up eth0 you can use the command ifconfig eth0 up, then it gets an IP. This can be done with dhcpcd eth0. After that everything should be ready to go. That's how I get going on my Cable connecton.
    AMD Athlon 2200+ 1.8Ghz
    1280MB PC-3200 CAS2.5 RAM
    ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 128MB AGP
    Western Digital WDC WD2500JB-00FUA0 250GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Seagate ST3200822A 200GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Western Digital WDC WD1200BB-00CAA1 120GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Western Digital WDC WD800BB-00CAA1 80GB 7200 rpm ATA/133
    Maxtor OneTouch 2HA43R32 1TB 7200 rpm USB 2.0
    D-Link DFE-530TX+ 10/100 NIC
    D-Link DWL-G520 Rev.A
    Debian 5.0r1 Lenny

  5. #5

    Re:Yet another Verizon DSL issue.

    Cripes, sounds messy lol

    i always thourght ppp0 was a dial up modem - which you dont have so that why the errors.

    Im thinking like this

    1. you need eth0 up to connect to dsl router. So if ifup eth0 is working all should be ok there.

    [Linux-eth0]----------------[router]---------(internet cloud [ISP] )

    2. you might not getting anything from mozilla because of DNS issues? can you ping an ip address instead?

    ping 216.239.57.99 thats google i think.

    3. can you configure the router via http? this would ensure that you are connecting to the router ok and would point back to the dns stuff. Also you should be able to check if the router is connecting properly.

    Food for thourght anyway
    Its better to regret something you have done than to regret something you havent done :P

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    304

    Re:Yet another Verizon DSL issue.

    You may need the ppp stuff because a lot of DSL connections are PPPoE which is PPP over Ethernet... so the ppp stuff may still be needed. I've never done DSL with Linux before, so I'm not sure what's needed, but I may be switching to DSL when we move in May... and will learn quick what I need at that time if we switch

Similar Threads

  1. Did you miss verizon dsl questions?
    By goddess88 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-15-2004, 01:34 PM
  2. Verizon DSL or TimeWarner Cable
    By Ashcrow in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-30-2004, 07:48 AM
  3. redhat 9 verizon dsl setup
    By Jtsky in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-03-2004, 03:54 PM
  4. Verizon and RIAA square off
    By mcdougrs in forum General Chat
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-16-2003, 03:37 PM
  5. Verizon DSL
    By gjansky in forum General Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-07-2002, 11:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •