Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: DHCP server

  1. #11
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:DHCP server

    Code:
    subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
            #option routers                  192.168.0.2;
            option subnet-mask              255.255.255.0;
            option domain-name              "schotty.net";
            option domain-name-servers      192.168.0.2, 209.153.128.4, 169.207.1.3;
            range 192.168.0.200 192.168.0.245;

    Here is a snippet of my /etc/dhcpd.conf file from a post wayyy back that is still pretty much in use on my RH9 system. I can post the entire thing later. Basically goto Red Hat's page and go into their docs. Its in one of their online manuals. There will be a section devoted to DHCP and setting up the server. I basically cut and pasted and filled in what I needed to, like IP ranges, domain names and such.

  2. #12

    Re:DHCP server

    That's actually what I did too, I'm looking at that pet, thanks.
    I'm just having one problem, the other computer I'm trying to connect has a PCMCIA ethernet card, and it doesn't show up in ifconfig unless it has a connection, anyone know a way around this?
    Thanks again.

  3. #13

    Re:DHCP server

    ifconfig -a should show it

  4. #14
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:DHCP server

    [quote author=countach44 link=board=4;threadid=8934;start=0#msg80777 date=1080784609]
    I'm trying to connect has a PCMCIA ethernet card, and it doesn't show up in ifconfig unless it has a connection, anyone know a way around this?
    Thanks again.
    [/quote]

    Normally it will only show active devices.


    As for my promise :

    Code:
    ddns-update-style interim;
    
    subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
            #option routers                  192.168.0.2;
            option subnet-mask              255.255.255.0;
            option domain-name              "schotty.net";
            option domain-name-servers       192.168.0.2, 209.153.128.4, 169.207.1.3;
            range 192.168.0.200 192.168.0.245;
    }
    
    host andrew {
       option host-name "andrew.schotty.net";
       hardware ethernet 00:0D:61:20:1C:06;
       fixed-address 192.168.0.64;
    }
    
    host redfedora {
       option host-name "redfedora.schotty.net";
       hardware ethernet 00:10:5A:62:A2:FF;
       fixed-address 192.168.0.2;
    }

Similar Threads

  1. PXE Server and DHCP Problem
    By forstera in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-26-2011, 05:58 AM
  2. dhcp server
    By hack785 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-09-2006, 04:45 PM
  3. dhcp server
    By coltrane in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-24-2005, 05:01 PM
  4. Disable Wireless Router DHCP and Use Linux DHCP Server?
    By omnivore in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-2005, 04:18 PM
  5. Strange route on my DHCP server
    By cheezetrix in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2004, 09:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •