Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Help Installing GNOME

  1. #11

    Re:Help Installing GNOME

    [quote author=trickster link=board=6;threadid=8646;start=0#msg78103 date=1076019878]
    Try copying all the gnome rpm's to a folder, change directories into that folder, and do rpm -Uvh *.rpm
    [/quote]

    Well, Actually I went into the Software installer for Drake and installed all the GNOME packages and all the dependencies as well so I have no Idea what to do now.. I added it into the sessions under the Login Manager but when I try to get into GNOME it just opens up IceWM.

  2. #12

  3. #13

    Re:Help Installing GNOME

    Make a new partition on move all of your data to that one, and then reinstall...

  4. #14

    Re:Help Installing GNOME

    [quote author=countach44 link=board=6;threadid=8646;start=0#msg78106 date=1076022216]
    Make a new partition on move all of your data to that one, and then reinstall...
    [/quote]

    Don't do that.

    If you have to resort to backing up your entire OS to get a program installed there are serious problems.

    Now I have absolutely no clue how Mandy does their package management. Is urpmi the package installer? If so, read up on how it works (probably "man urpmi&quot. Taking a look at your previous post, it's probably "urpmi gnome-desktop". So long as your upgrade info is current, there's a chance that'll do it.


  5. #15
    Moderator
    Good Guru
    Schotty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    5,760

    Re:Help Installing GNOME

    Boot up, change to runlevel 3

    Then do :

    xinit && gnome-session

  6. #16

    Re:Help Installing GNOME

    [quote author=Slave Copy link=board=6;threadid=8646;start=0#msg78121 date=1076044784]
    Boot up, change to runlevel 3

    Then do :

    xinit && gnome-session
    [/quote]

    how do i change the runlevel? (what is the runlevel?)

  7. #17

    Re:Help Installing GNOME

    type init 3
    for runlevel three.
    your /etc/inittab has what your runlevels are defined as.

    # These are the default runlevels in Slackware:
    # 0 = halt
    # 1 = single user mode
    # 2 = unused (but configured the same as runlevel 3)
    # 3 = multiuser mode (default Slackware runlevel)
    # 4 = X11 with KDM/GDM/XDM (session managers)
    # 5 = unused (but configured the same as runlevel 3)
    # 6 = reboot

    --from my inittab

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Gnome
    By Wolverine in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2003, 08:03 PM
  2. Installing Gnome apps without gnome.....
    By CP in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-31-2002, 12:20 AM
  3. Installing gnome 2
    By Static in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-12-2002, 04:36 PM
  4. Installing gnome-libs on LFS
    By Onewingdove in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2002, 09:25 PM
  5. Installing Ximian GNOME
    By EL-Newbie in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-05-2002, 11:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •