Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
Crap! Installing is Hard...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Crap! Installing is Hard...

  1. #1

    Crap! Installing is Hard...



    I pretty much figured out there are three types on installers: tar.gz, RMPs, and Deb. From using Red Hat and Fedora, I quickly learned that RMPs are similar to installers in Windows. The problem is, the first few I used installed the program without finding any lacking dependecies. However, after messing around on the net and trying to find the missing dependencies, I found the dependencies were lacking dependencies... This, I've since been informed, is the so-called RPM hell. I don't even want to download an RPM because I have not been successfull in getting even one program to install properly

    Ok.. so I figure Deb, and the apt-get utility are not available for those of us not running a Debian distribution... So I won't even f--- around with that... although from what I understand, this the the best and most sofisiticated form of installing packages...

    So I try to find tar.gz files, but I'm not having any luck compling or "makefile"ing those SOBs either...

    Few things:

    a) Can I intall a program designed to run in KDE while using Gnome?

    b) Will KDE programs run in Gnome?

    c) Which desktop has more programs...KDE or Gnome?

    d) If I'm running Fedora Core, can I install programs designed for an older distribution of RH?

    In other words, can a program like Mplayer or KmlDonkey, designed for RH8 be installed on a system runing FC1 in the Gnome environment?

    This stuff is COMPLEX>>>>>>>>>>&gt ;>> :-\

    Is there...will there ever be... a simple way to download and install a program such as the InstallWise stuff I'm used to in Windows? Why is that so hard?

    For those of you not used to hearing me bitch about this stuff... I've only been running Linux a couple of weeks and don't know squat. I'm using the PETs, but when you get hung up 1/2 way through.. they don't do you much good.

    Thanks,

    John

    ???

  2. #2

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77500 date=1075087575]


    I pretty much figured out there are three types on installers: tar.gz, RMPs, and Deb. From using Red Hat and Fedora, I quickly learned that RMPs are similar to installers in Windows. The problem is, the first few I used installed the program without finding any lacking dependecies. However, after messing around on the net and trying to find the missing dependencies, I found the dependencies were lacking dependencies... This, I've since been informed, is the so-called RPM hell. I don't even want to download an RPM because I have not been successfull in getting even one program to install properly

    Ok.. so I figure Deb, and the apt-get utility are not available for those of us not running a Debian distribution... So I won't even f--- around with that... although from what I understand, this the the best and most sofisiticated form of installing packages...

    So I try to find tar.gz files, but I'm not having any luck compling or "makefile"ing those SOBs either...
    [/quote]
    um ya - that can be tough... hopefully we can walk through it.



    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77500 date=1075087575]

    Few things:

    a) Can I intall a program designed to run in KDE while using Gnome?
    [/quote]
    yes!


    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77500 date=1075087575]
    b) Will KDE programs run in Gnome?
    [/quote]
    yes!

    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77500 date=1075087575]
    c) Which desktop has more programs...KDE or Gnome?
    [/quote]
    umm - i think kde has more apps that start with k but i don't think there are actually more programs for kde

    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77500 date=1075087575]
    d) If I'm running Fedora Core, can I install programs designed for an older distribution of RH?


    In other words, can a program like Mplayer or KmlDonkey, designed for RH8 be installed on a system runing FC1 in the Gnome environment?
    [/quote]

    95 % of the time you should be able too. if not there should be a new version available. i am still playing xgalaga from redhat 5.2

    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77500 date=1075087575]
    This stuff is COMPLEX>>>>>>>>>>&gt ;>> :-\

    Is there...will there ever be... a simple way to download and install a program such as the InstallWise stuff I'm used to in Windows? Why is that so hard?

    For those of you not used to hearing me bitch about this stuff... I've only been running Linux a couple of weeks and don't know squat. I'm using the PETs, but when you get hung up 1/2 way through.. they don't do you much good.

    Thanks,

    John

    ???
    [/quote]
    apt for RPM!! or yum!! for fedora it is here:
    http://yarrow.freshrpms.net/rpm.html?id=393
    installing this and then synaptic which is a front end for apt
    http://yarrow.freshrpms.net/rpm.html?id=297

    or if you like yum is here:
    http://yarrow.freshrpms.net/rpm.html?id=279

    repositories for both are listed here:

    http://www.linuxjunior.org/yabbse/in...;threadid=8008

    what apt and yum do is resolve dependicies and down load the package with the dependencies - e.g. apt-get install mplayer would download mplayer and all its dependencies - you could also use synamptic for a front end, but i have not tried it. if you do go the apt route be sure to update your /etc/apt/sources file with the repositores listed above


  3. #3

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    pbharris--

    You are both helpful and patient. I hope I don't get smited for my poor attitude this evening.

    When you say frontend, you are referring to a GUI-based program, right? For those of us who grew up in a windows environment (I has a Mac SE Superdrive when I was like 8 years old)... running programs in the command line is difficult, however, I am totally willing to learn...

    Do I need to have apt installed before I install Synaptic? And is the apt RPM going to find missing dependencies?

    "repositories for both are listed here:"

    What are repositories?


    "if you do go the apt route be sure to update your /etc/apt/sources file with the repositores listed above"

    How do I do this?

    I will try to download the programs you speak of.. (please God no more dependencies....) If I have futher trouble.. as I'm sure I will.. you'll be sure to hear from me.

    In the meantime, thanks once again for your help. You, trickster, mojo jojo (or whatever) and lovechild (as well as many others) have been Extremely helpful and you are all saints as far as I'm concerned. Please note the kiss-ass points.

    Well.. here I go....

    (BTW, I am DETERMINED to make Linux my prime OS by Summer....)

  4. #4

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    "When you say frontend, you are referring to a GUI-based program, right? "
    yup he's refering to the GUI

    "What are repositories? "
    repositories are places where apt get the packages from (someone correct me if i'm wrong)



    "Do I need to have apt installed before I install Synaptic?
    yea you need apt before you get synaptic

    "
    (BTW, I am DETERMINED to make Linux my prime OS by Summer....)"

    oh it will be you primary much much sooner then that ;D

  5. #5

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    OK

    So...

    I think I figured it out....

    I installed apt. Then, I went to the link you povided and inserted the code that mojo jojo provided for the apt source list into a terminal command line. A bunch of stuff happend and the code moved up the screen. I hit enter and that was that...

    Then I installed Synaptic.. That RPM seemed to run OK.

    Now, if I wanted to run apt or synaptic, do I need open or run them? or when I try to run an RPM, will they automatically do their thing?

    Am I on the right track?

    Thanks,

    John

  6. #6

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77509 date=1075090578]
    pbharris--

    You are both helpful and patient. I hope I don't get smited for my poor attitude this evening.
    [/quote]
    it is mighty rare if i smite anyone, i am pretty generous with the karma though


    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77509 date=1075090578]
    When you say frontend, you are referring to a GUI-based program, right? For those of us who grew up in a windows environment (I has a Mac SE Superdrive when I was like 8 years old)... running programs in the command line is difficult, however, I am totally willing to learn...
    [/quote]
    ah - yes - GUI program!

    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77509 date=1075090578]
    Do I need to have apt installed before I install Synaptic? And is the apt RPM going to find missing dependencies?
    [/quote]
    ah ha! soon we shall call you linux winner! you understand how this works perfectly


    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77509 date=1075090578]
    "repositories for both are listed here:"

    What are repositories?
    [/quote]
    repositories are places where they keep the software, plus a list of the software they have.


    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77509 date=1075090578]
    "if you do go the apt route be sure to update your /etc/apt/sources file with the repositores listed above"

    How do I do this?
    [/quote]
    as user root open the file /etc/apt/sources.list and add this stuff:
    Code:
    # Apt sources.list from http://www.xades.com/proj/fedora_repos.html
    # Put this file at /etc/apt/sources.list
    # Fedora Core
    # Fedora Extras (formerly "Fedora Linux")
    rpm http://mirrors.kernel.org/fedora/fedora fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    rpm-src http://mirrors.kernel.org/fedora/fedora fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    # Livna 3rd party packages with questionable licenses -- use at your own risk
    rpm http://rpm.livna.org/ fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    rpm-src http://rpm.livna.org/ fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    
    rpm http://apt.sw.be redhat/fc1/en/i386 dag
    rpm http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/ redhat/en/i386/fc1 newrpms
    rpm http://download.fedora.us/ fedora/fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing updates
    rpm http://people.ecsc.co.uk/~matt/downloads/apt fedora-1-i386 gnome extras depends
    #<--Very very good
    
    
    rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt fedora/1/i386 core updates
    rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt fedora/1/i386 planetccrma
    rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt fedora/1/i386 planetcore
    
    rpm http://apt.physik.fu-berlin.de/ fedora/fc1/en/i386 at-testing at-stable at-bleeding
    rpm ftp://apt-rpm.tuxfamily.org/apt/ fedora/1/i386 os updates testing extra
    rpm http://apt.reb00t.com fedora os stable testing
    after you add this to the file sources.list be sure to run apt-get update - this refreashes the list of software available in the repositories.


    [quote author=Linux Looser link=board=2;threadid=8579;start=0#msg77509 date=1075090578]
    I will try to download the programs you speak of.. (please God no more dependencies....) If I have futher trouble.. as I'm sure I will.. you'll be sure to hear from me.

    In the meantime, thanks once again for your help. You, trickster, mojo jojo (or whatever) and lovechild (as well as many others) have been Extremely helpful and you are all saints as far as I'm concerned. Please note the kiss-ass points.

    Well.. here I go....

    (BTW, I am DETERMINED to make Linux my prime OS by Summer....)
    [/quote]

    just paying it forward

  7. #7

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    hey paul a few of those source he should not add because certain ones conflict(spelling?) the once I provided work just fine with each other

    oh you can find the syaptic in the "gnome foot" -> "System Settings"

  8. #8

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    When you say "add these to your repositories," do you really mean "add" or do you mean "replace." I have replaced in the past, which leads me to believe that I have f---ed up my repository file... in both yum and apt. oh God help me...

    is it possible for you to just send me the code that is in your file and I can just copy and paste it into mine... would that work?

    :-\

  9. #9

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    paste this into the file /etc/apt/sources.list - this should be all you need in that file.
    Code:
    # Apt sources.list from http://www.xades.com/proj/fedora_repos.html
    # Put this file at /etc/apt/sources.list
    # Fedora Core
    # Fedora Extras (formerly "Fedora Linux")
    rpm http://mirrors.kernel.org/fedora/fedora fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    rpm-src http://mirrors.kernel.org/fedora/fedora fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    # Livna 3rd party packages with questionable licenses -- use at your own risk
    rpm http://rpm.livna.org/ fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    rpm-src http://rpm.livna.org/ fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing
    
    rpm http://apt.sw.be redhat/fc1/en/i386 dag
    rpm http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/ redhat/en/i386/fc1 newrpms
    rpm http://download.fedora.us/ fedora/fedora/1/i386 stable unstable testing updates
    rpm http://people.ecsc.co.uk/~matt/downloads/apt fedora-1-i386 gnome extras depends
    #<--Very very good
    
    
    rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt fedora/1/i386 core updates
    rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt fedora/1/i386 planetccrma
    rpm http://www-ccrma.stanford.edu/planetccrma/apt fedora/1/i386 planetcore
    
    rpm http://apt.physik.fu-berlin.de/ fedora/fc1/en/i386 at-testing at-stable at-bleeding
    rpm ftp://apt-rpm.tuxfamily.org/apt/ fedora/1/i386 os updates testing extra
    rpm http://apt.reb00t.com fedora os stable testing

  10. #10

    Re:Crap! Installing is Hard...

    OK. Did that, pbharris....

    Now how do I run the apt Utility... i.e. how do I get a rpm to install successfully?

    Thanks,
    8)

Similar Threads

  1. Sharing a new hard drive after installing Debian 3.1
    By lth98105 in forum Linux - Hardware, Networking & Security
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-09-2006, 11:53 PM
  2. SP2 HOLY CRAP!
    By karenb in forum Windows - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2005, 08:00 PM
  3. Installing Linux on USB Hard Drive?
    By warfab in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2004, 10:51 PM
  4. What a crap survey
    By ndogg in forum General Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-19-2002, 06:43 AM
  5. Holy crap!
    By stryder144 in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-08-2002, 07:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •