Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Americas Army problem

  1. #1

    Americas Army problem

    When I try to start Americas Army 2.0a I keep getting this.

    Code:
    Xlib:  extension "XiG-SUNDRY-NONSTANDARD" missing on display ":0.0".
    Xlib:  extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
    GL_EXT_bgra not supported - bailing out.
     
    History:
     
    Exiting due to error
    here is my XF86Config file

    Code:
    # XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "single head configuration"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    # RgbPath is the location of the RGB database.  Note, this is the name of the 
    # file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db").  There is normally
    # no need to change the default.
    
    # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
    # By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
    # the X server to render fonts.
    
    RgbPath      "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    FontPath     "unix/:7100"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    Load  "dbe"
    Load  "extmod"
    Load  "fbdevhw"
    Load  "glx"
    Load  "record"
    Load  "freetype"
    Load  "type1"
            Load  "dri"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    # Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
    #Option"Xleds""1 2 3"
    
    # To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
    #Option"XkbDisable"
    
    # To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
    # lines below (which are the defaults).  For example, for a non-U.S.
    # keyboard, you will probably want to use:
    #Option"XkbModel""pc102"
    # If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
    #Option"XkbModel""microsoft"
    #
    # Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
    # For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
    #Option"XkbLayout""de"
    # or:
    #Option"XkbLayout""de"
    #Option"XkbVariant""nodeadkeys"
    #
    # If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
    # control keys, use:
    #Option"XkbOptions""ctrl:swapcaps"
    # Or if you just want both to be control, use:
    #Option"XkbOptions""ctrl:nocaps"
    #
    Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    Driver      "keyboard"
    Option    "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    Option    "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option    "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse0"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option    "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    # If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
    # this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
    # also use USB mice at the same time.
    Identifier  "DevInputMice"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Option    "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier   "Monitor0"
    VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName    "ViewSonic OptiQuest Q71-2"
    DisplaySize  320240
    HorizSync    30.0 - 70.0
    VertRefresh  50.0 - 120.0
    Option    "dpms"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Videocard0"
    Driver      "nvidia"
    VendorName  "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName   "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Videocard0"
    Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth     24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth     16
    Modes    "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth     24
    Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    Group        0
    Mode         0666
    EndSection
    I have tired it with bot Load "dri" un/quoted and still get the same results.

  2. #2

    Re:Americas Army problem

    anyone please :-[ :-[ :'( :'(

  3. #3

    Re:Americas Army problem

    Are you using the latest Nvidia driver? I read the latest driver did not work with NWN, so it might be the same problem...

  4. #4

    Re:Americas Army problem

    nope 4496 mabey it could be that fedora just does not work with some game like AA&ET

  5. #5

    Re:Americas Army problem


  6. #6

    Re:Americas Army problem

    This is offtopic but I know on Mac's and Windows spyware is installed with Americas Army. Beware

  7. #7

    Re:Americas Army problem

    [quote author=Ashcrow link=board=8;threadid=8537;start=0#msg77370 date=1074877599]
    This is offtopic but I know on Mac's and Windows spyware is installed with Americas Army. Beware
    [/quote]What kind of spyware???? ???

  8. #8

    Re:Americas Army problem

    Hello,

    I just installed Armerica's Army last night and it was by far the easiest game that I have installed on Linux to date.

    I too am using a NVidia chipset. The drivers that come with Linux don't contain 3D acceleration, so you have to visit www.nvidia.com and download the 3D drivers for Linux.

    You'll have to change permissions on the downloaded file, and run the installer with the X Server turned off.

    Using Mandrake, the easiest way to do this (through the gui) is to go into Mandrake Control Center -> Display -> X Server and select 'no' where it says something like 'start X at boot?'.

    Reboot and run the installer.

    In your XF86Config-4 file it has a device section that looks similar to:

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "Videocard vendor"
    BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
    EndSection

    You must change the Driver from "nvidia" to "nv".

    Logout from root and type startx at the command prompt.

    If your 3D drivers are working you should see a NVidia splash screen whenever X starts.




  9. #9
    Mentor Stuart's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    nb.ca
    Posts
    1,087

    Re:Americas Army problem

    You must change the Driver from "nvidia" to "nv".
    Actually, the official nvidia drivers are in fact nvidia, so you must change nv to nvidia.

  10. #10

    Re:Americas Army problem

    I'm gonna try this game again.

Similar Threads

  1. Americas Army 2.5 for Linux just released!!
    By mojo jojo in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-08-2008, 03:39 PM
  2. Americas Army
    By mojo jojo in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-14-2004, 03:49 AM
  3. America's Army
    By ZennouRyuu in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-02-2004, 11:31 AM
  4. Land Warrior Army Suits Simplified, Linux-ized
    By trickster in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-28-2003, 01:35 PM
  5. Smu -- newest general to my army
    By Schotty in forum General Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-19-2003, 06:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •