Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: USB and Serial Port Problems + Dual Boot Question

Hybrid View

USB and Serial Port Problems + Dual Boot Question

I recently installed Redhat 8. I'm running GNOME on my Dell Inspiron 7500 Laptop. I am having pretty good success with most of the hardware, except I can't get my serial port or USP port to function. This is important, as I need to be able to use my perfs., i.e. printer, palm pilot, cd burner, etc. I am a newbie, but I want to trash Windows completely in the near future. Go easy on me...

Also, after installing Linux on a secondary partition, I wasn't able to boot windows XP, so I ran the windows boot disk. THen, Windows installed its boot info on top of GRUB (I think)... so I have to use the LInux boot disk any time I want boot up LInux. I have Boot Magic 8.0 (I think) but I haven't been able to figure where the problem is or what I have to do to get a boot option screen that will recognize both OSs, either through Windows or through Linux... any Ideas?

Thanks ahead to anyone that can help!

Peace,

John A

Re:USB and Serial Port Problems + Dual Boot Question

hello,
    1st please turn off PnP in the BIOS, that may help.
    for the palm piolet there are several apps used to access them, i don't have a palm myslef but i know they exist. for USB - this should be really easy redhat 8 - try running /etc/init.d/kudzo at the command line as user root - it should set it up for you.

for the bootloader have a looky at the example here:
    http://www.linuxjunior.org/cgi-bin/p...play&id=54

basically if you add teh chainloader part it should work, then you will need to run grub-install

pbharris,

Thanks, but I'm a bit confused. I tried running /etc/init.d/kudzo as the root user but is says "bash: /etc/init.d/kudzo: No such file or directory". Also, I went into the bios, but I don't see anything about PnP. I did turn off the parallel port.. I don't need it anyway.. but that's where I'm at so far...

Any other ideas?