Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19
newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

  1. #1

    newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    Hello,
    Recently made the move to Linux. I like it a lot, but have many questions.
    (using Gnome with redhat9)

    1.Example:

    I downloaded the yahoo messenger rpm.
    I installed it ok.
    But where is the icon that I need to click to actually run it?
    I know it's installed because when I did rpm -qa, it came up in the list of programs as: ymessenger-1.0.4-1.
    But where is the icon to run it???


    2. Example

    I downloaded the coffee html editor.
    The name of the file is CoffeeLinux.tar.gz
    I extracted a "dist" directory to: /home/imadb/Multimedia/Web Design/CoffeeLinuxHTML.
    Inside the "dist" folder, I found and ran the Install, which completed ok.
    But again, I just can't locate the file/icon that I need to click on to make it run ???

    My main Q is...how do I make a program run after installing it?
    How do I find this icon or file after the installation is complete?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    Hey ;D ;D

    I get rid of YahooIM and use GAIM, anyways open the terminal and type in yahoo(think thats it) or just ype ya<hit tab 2x>

    also loose coffecup and get screem IMO it's a lot better then coffecup.

    to run coffeecup do the same as yahoo.

    once think that you might want to do. Is install apt-get.

    Hot to get/use APT/Synaptic

    go here and download the 3 files http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/freshrpms/redhat/9/apt/

    .open the Terminal and type:
    su
    <passwd>
    "cd" (w/o quotes) to the directory of the rpms
    rpm -ivh *.rpm (make sure only those 3 rpms are there)
    rm -f *.rpm
    apt-get update
    <wait>
    apt-get -y install synaptic
    now logout

    look for the "synaptic package manger"(something like that)
    now you can update RH9 and have lots of RPMs
    if you want MORE packages open the Termian again and:

    su
    <passwd>
    gedit /etc/apt/sources.list and add these

    rpm http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/ redhat/en/i386/9.0 newrpms
    rpm-src http://newrpms.sunsite.dk/apt/ redhat/en/i386/9.0 newrpms
    rpm http://apt.sw.be redhat/9/en/i386 dag
    and logout

    Hope this helps you

    Micahel






  3. #3

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    Downloaded the 3 packages.
    Tried to follow the instructions.
    First I got an error, so I retried it and got:

    [root@localhost APT]# rpm -ivh *.rpm
    warning: apt-0.5.5cnc6-fr1.i386.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID e42d547b
    Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
    package apt-0.5.5cnc6-fr1 is already installed
    package apt-devel-0.5.5cnc6-fr1 is already installed
    error: cannot create %sourcedir /usr/src/redhat/SOURCES


    I guess this means that some installed, but others didn't.
    Do I have to somehow reverse this and retry?
    If so, how?

  4. #4

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    Skip the install part and continue from "apt-get update" part

  5. #5

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    Thank you.
    It installed Synaptic for me.

    Is that the easiest way to add/remove/update progs?
    I'll have a play with it.

  6. #6

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    Your Welcome

    yea thats the best way to add/remove/install programs ;D ;D

  7. #7

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    Open up a terminal window, and type su and then root's password.
    Then type, updatedb &, this will update your file database. Once it's done, type locate filename or whereis filename and it should display the path of the file location. Be sure to type exit once the updatedb command has ran.


  8. #8

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    you can also do a rpm -ql <packagename> - list of use rpm commands here -> http://www.linuxjunior.org/cgi-bin/p...play&id=35

  9. #9

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    As to the icons...you can run rpm -ql (as suggested earlier) and then you should see in the output in which directory the icons are placed.
    Then all you have to do is to create the icon desktop.
    In my experience linux installation rarely place the desktops in menu and on desktop so rpm -ql is the useful command to remember

  10. #10

    Re:newbie RH9 user - how do I locate installed progs?

    thanks
    this has been most helpful with clear answers.
    learnt a lot from this thread.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 03:14 AM
  2. alternative progs for linux
    By dbgg1979 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-30-2005, 08:22 AM
  3. What does 'locate network grep howto' do?
    By Smegma in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-28-2004, 04:16 AM
  4. Can't locate module:
    By gmoreno in forum Linux - General Topics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-24-2003, 03:40 AM
  5. problems installing kde progs from source
    By t048 in forum Linux - Software, Applications & Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2002, 03:34 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •