Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

Warning: Function ereg() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 4

Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_postbit.php(345) : eval()'d code on line 19

A Challenge for the GUI gifted

Thread: A Challenge for the GUI gifted

A Challenge for the GUI gifted

I sad down the other night and thought of GUI design ideas I had seen and liked - and I started drawing on a peice of paper at least some of the features I would like to see in the desktop of the near future.

And I came to thinking, what would you people like to happen to our beloved Linux desktops now that xserver, HAL, D-BUS and other nice freedesktop.org projects are about to change the way we use the desktop.

Oh and once I figure out how to work GIMP Ill post a primitive mockup of my basic idea.

Re:A Challenge for the GUI gifted

I've always wanted to have a constant shell open in the background. All one would have to do is type the app name and it would start instead of finding it in the menu or opening a terminal starting the app and then closing the terminal. It would show what you are typing in an overly on the screen top right corner or something as you typed it and fade out if you stopped typing fore more than X seconds.

The only other thing I've been itching for is more movie like GUI's. It's just eyecandy, but it makes things so much more fun and exciting to have slick looking apps/WM/DE. IMHO only Enlightenment has really done that in terms of a WM.

LC have you followed Seth Nickell's vision of what he one day hopes the free desktop will be? You may be interested to check in at http://www.designfu.org now and again to read his blog. He's quite interested in next-gen desktop stuff, as am I.